Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 31
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    6

    Ecobee thermostat

    I am looking for some feedback on ecobee thermostats. My neighbor is building a cabin and wants a wifi thermostat that will call out in case the boiler fails, and this is the best option I have come up with, but I have to prior knowledge of them.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Greenwood Indiana (Indianapolis)
    Posts
    420
    I will be having a class on this thermostat This Friday. The Honeywell IAQ will do this, you need the redlink router.
    As iron sharpens iron so one man sharpens another Proverbs 27:17 NIV84

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northwest IN/Chicago
    Posts
    268
    The WiFi Vision Pro and Focus Pro are two affordable options that will do what you want. They don't "call" out though. Under account settings you can set a specific temperature and if it gets below that for a certain period of time it will send out an email (or multiples if you choose)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,158
    With ecobee you don't need any other wifi router, the stat connects to the existing wifi network.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Westerville, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    24
    I have installed over 10 of these. The Smart version allows for humidity control, remote sensors, and has dry contract inputs (tying to wet switch, other accessories). The SI is the basic one. Both have weather, integrated WI-FI, super easy app.

    I hate to say it, but I like them both better than my 2x as expensive Carrier Color touch....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    4
    We have had very good response from our customers on these. Come to think of it, I don't think I have heard anything negative.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    West Chester, PA
    Posts
    511
    Ecobees have been very good in my experience and you don;t have to buy all of the red link stuff.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    maroon lazyboy
    Posts
    1,049
    +1 for ecobee.
    But the Honeywell VP wifi looks nice as well. Does that one need the redlink router?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Northwest IN/Chicago
    Posts
    268
    WiFi vision pro and focus pro have the WiFi built in. No red link gateway required.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    maroon lazyboy
    Posts
    1,049
    Quote Originally Posted by Gus-Herb94 View Post
    WiFi vision pro and focus pro have the WiFi built in. No red link gateway required.
    Thanks

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Sacramento,ca
    Posts
    196
    I am becoming a big fan of the nest for an all inclusive stat that has wifi built in. Pricey at 225$ but it does way more than a honeywell redlink setup for 20% less in cost and works just like an ipod for those tech people

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    469
    Im sure your concern is Pipes Busting and flooding the cabin. Until you install just crack open the faucet very slightly. Movement will avoid the freeze. Yes it's a waste but there is a long list of waste in Life. Flowing rivers don't freeze under 32 degrees.
    Customer is alWays opposite of Left

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,915
    Quote Originally Posted by Barrettservices View Post
    Pricey at 225$ but it does way more than a honeywell redlink setup for 20% less in cost
    The Nest looks like a nice thermostat, and will handle most systems, but it doesn't have anything close to the feature set of the Ecobee smart thermostat, or Honeywell Prestige IAQ.
    Also, if the thermostat is actually located in what is typically considered a "correct" location for a thermostat, Nest's occupancy sensor is nearly completely useless in most homes I've been in.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event