Page 1 of 12 1234567811 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 148

Thread: SMAN or Testo?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589

    SMAN or Testo?

    I'm wondering who makes the best setup, I was looking at SMAN 3. I'm not into cooling as much because I'm far north so I'm not looking for the best of the best. Thanks for any replies.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Not that much price diff between the SMAN 3 and the Testo 557.

    I would go the extra mile and get the 557 cause its a great deal more accurate.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,847

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,172
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    I'm wondering who makes the best setup, I was looking at SMAN 3. I'm not into cooling as much because I'm far north so I'm not looking for the best of the best. Thanks for any replies.
    If you could get the best of the best for the same (or lower) price as the SMAN3, would you?

    http://shop.rdholder.com/Digi-Cool-A...Cool-AK900.htm

    You can get 5% off with hvactalk coupon code.
    Last edited by Chuck; 08-17-2012 at 11:00 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Thanks for the link it didn't come I'n a clickable form so I will look it up.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,172
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Thanks for the link it didn't come I'n a clickable form so I will look it up.
    I fixed it. Try it again.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    They look nice why are they so cheap?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,381
    I used an sman3 a few weeks ago when working with my friend. It wasnt bad but i really wasnt familiar with it because im so used to my ak900. The hook was annoying and the site glass on the manifold wasnt really friendly to my eyes but other than that i cant give it a bad rating . . . Unless we're talking appearance lol because besides its colors its ugly.

    Sent from my SCH-I800 using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Thats good, the kind of info I like. I'm just suprised at the price. Do they come with clamp on thermometers, looks like sman3 does.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    wedged in freezer shelf
    Posts
    7,042
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Thats good, the kind of info I like. I'm just suprised at the price. Do they come with clamp on thermometers, looks like sman3 does.
    Just like a micron gauges the mfgs. feel the need to include these things even if they arn't very good..
    I dislike the SMAN clamps and have seen videos showing the similar reasons to not believe in their accuracy in the field. The best way to mount a sensor is to strap it to the line and insulate. Most clamps do a poor job in the field IMO.
    “If You Can Dodge A Wrench You Can Dodge A Ball”

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Quote Originally Posted by itsiceman View Post
    Just like a micron gauges the mfgs. feel the need to include these things even if they arn't very good..
    I dislike the SMAN clamps and have seen videos showing the similar reasons to not believe in their accuracy in the field. The best way to mount a sensor is to strap it to the line and insulate. Most clamps do a poor job in the field IMO.
    Do any of the gauges make a strap on style sensor. I think I like the digi cools, I dont need anything super expensive and if those are supposed to be the best then that's great. Just about the time out ac season gets going its already over. On the other hand because I don't do alot of ac I would like something to make it easier.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,847
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Do any of the gauges make a strap on style sensor. I think I like the digi cools, I dont need anything super expensive and if those are supposed to be the best then that's great. Just about the time out ac season gets going its already over. On the other hand because I don't do alot of ac I would like something to make it easier.
    DC sensors are strap on.

    "The best" is such a subjective thing. I like my digi-cools as do many others that have them, but there are a lot of people that like their Testos and SMANs, too.

    It comes down to personal preference. The problem is, you need to use them to gain a preference and not many guys are willing to loan their digitals out...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    What it comes down to is best bang for your buck, but I would rather have a set with a few bells and whistles that work good then a set with everything that work ok. I'm sure whoever owns SMAN or Testo will say theres are the best, mostly because they like you said have never used any other. I have been hearing lots of good about digi cools so maybe I will look into them. I am sure they are all good though.

Page 1 of 12 1234567811 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event