Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    933
    Post Likes

    Honeywell Tridium Integration to Older LCBS Devices

    I was looking to install a JACE in place of a Honeywell Webvision controller on a job with various LCBS devices like XL15cs, XL CVAHU controller, and RIOs... I was wondering if those can come into Tridium smoothly? If so how do these devices look in Tridium? Is it a clean discovery or does it take a while to go through all of the discovered data to figure out what is what? Particularly the XL15cs?

    Thanks!
    J. King

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    24
    Post Likes
    I highly recommend NOT doing this. LCBS was never meant to be used on a Tridium jace. The points do not come in smoothly at all. There is alot of work involved in finding them pulling them in and creating graphics. Also most or all of the points wont be writable. Once a XL15 is programmed in Lonspec and then pulled into a Tridium jace you cant write to points. It has to be programmed in WEBs then matched to the XL15c. I would run from this! Good luck.

    Mike

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston area
    Posts
    314
    Post Likes
    Check your email

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    933
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by mechmike2 View Post
    Check your email
    Thank you for the email. That information is very helpful. One of the videos showed them building a XL15C in Tridium. Is this necessary every time or can I just match the device in the field with the database then LEARN? I saw something about learning mentioned too. Now once I learn will it be pretty straight forward to at least find some basic point data to pin to graphics? The customer isn't looking for anything over advanced. Lastly once these devices are integrated is it still okay to reprogram the devices in Lonspec? I know working with Lonspec when the network devices are commissioned through Tridium can be a bad idea at times....

    Thanks again for your help!
    J. King

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    24
    Post Likes
    apprentice3,

    From what I understand they must be built in Tridium to work properly. Also sent you an email.

    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Boston area
    Posts
    314
    Post Likes
    Drop 15cforLearn device on lon bus, rename as needed. Match up field device to the XL15cfor Learn device. In actions do a learn then upload. You can then view wiresheet of I/O, Flex and Logic loops...etc.

    Readonly-I use nvoFactoyTest for DO's and DI's. Use aiVal from IO for AI or nvoFtStatus points from flex loops. nvoLLStatus from logic loops. Writables-nciSetpoints for flex loop setpoints, don't use a reset schedule on these points. Setpoints from setpoint, dont reset these either. Takes a while but you'll get it.

    As far as swithcing between lonspec and tridium it is not recommended but once you get the hang of it programming the 15C in AX is not that bad.

    Check out the Honeywell Buildings Forum, you will need to sign up to get access, they have lots of info

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    steeler nation
    Posts
    2,337
    Post Likes
    The 15C's used to be painful. especially if it was rapid zone. the other controllers are straight forward
    IV IV IX

    use your head for something other than a hat rack.......Gerry


    We have freedom because somebody fought for it.
    We keep it because we are willing to fight for it.
    We lose it because we are not willing to fight for it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Post Likes
    It is a cumbersome process. It is made much easier if you have the lonspec or evision file to refer to and worst case you can redownload the controller if you mess it up. The xl10 wizards are great for the 10's but the 15's require a bit of patience. Webvision works good if you arent planning on changing or adding controllers anytime soon. I did a ton of these early on in the ax product and I had to do another about 8 months ago and was really wondering why we tried this to begin with. Maybe a better though to swap the 15's out for spyders if you know how to use them.

    BTW the hw videos make them seem much easier than they really are to integrate. You will get some quirks like the points going stale at weird times etc....
    "It's always controls"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    213
    Post Likes
    Can you guys send me the email too? I am working on a similar job....thanks.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    933
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by fisha View Post
    Can you guys send me the email too? I am working on a similar job....thanks.
    Check your email.
    J. King

  11. Likes gbo_19 liked this post
  12. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    1
    Post Likes

    Can you please send me email as well.

    Quote Originally Posted by apprentice3 View Post
    Check your email.
    Can you please send me email as well.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    236
    Post Likes
    May I get a copy of this also please.

    Thanks

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    933
    Post Likes
    Check your email. I sent the files I had.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    J. King

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Comfortech 365