Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12

    Gibson two stage 60/80 locking out

    Hello all this thing is 6years old the last 2 it keeps looking out, maybe 6 times per year (no snow, air switch checks,drain clear) two light blinks . any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Model# KG6TE-080C-VB Have noticed the top light marked ANI on the board will flash sometimes when unit is running?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Well thing locked again today looks like it maybe the board anyone work on these units and know the quorks?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,382
    Quote Originally Posted by muskey View Post
    Hello all this thing is 6years old the last 2 it keeps looking out, maybe 6 times per year (no snow, air switch checks,drain clear) two light blinks . any ideas?
    O.K. I'll bite.

    But first a question, are you a home owner or technician?

    As I'm sure you know, this forum doesn't give out troubleshooting info to home owners.

    If you are a technician, what troubleshooting have you done up to this point?

    From your description, it sounds like the "add-on control board" LED is the one that is blinking.

    2 flashes of this LED has to do with Pressure Switch issues.

    If you are a homeowner, I would call a service company out to look at your unit. I'm sure they will be able to review the installation of your unit to see if it was done correctly, and then easily troubleshooting the reason for the occasional lock outs.

    If you are a technician, get your post count up, apply for membership, once accepted, come into the Pro Forums for info on troubleshooting these pressure switch issues.

    That is the best I can do at this stage.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Both its my house. Fitter 1, obt 1,Refrigeration.(35 years)The problem is don't work on res. at all. I can read about the pressure swithes and light blinking and wiring diagrams.But its not a consistant problem.sometimes it lights and then not, I think its the board with the top light blinking while it is firing sometimes.Just hate to spend money on a 6 year old gibson funace to find it was the wrong part.When I can buy a new funace at cost and install it.Thanks for the feed back and I hope I posted in the wright area.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,382
    Quote Originally Posted by muskey View Post
    Both its my house. Fitter 1, obt 1,Refrigeration.(35 years)The problem is don't work on res. at all. I can read about the pressure swithes and light blinking and wiring diagrams.But its not a consistant problem.sometimes it lights and then not, I think its the board with the top light blinking while it is firing sometimes.Just hate to spend money on a 6 year old gibson funace to find it was the wrong part.When I can buy a new funace at cost and install it.Thanks for the feed back and I hope I posted in the wright area.
    Six years isn't that old.

    Before you condemn the board or the furnace, I would get a manometer and VOM out and see if that High pressure switch is seeing the required pressure listed on the switch. You could have a venting issue causing the pressure switch to open on occasion. Might be an easy fix.

    Keep posting, and get yourself into the pro forums.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Thanks rundawg I was being lazy,guess I will get out the special effects (tools) and have a real look at this thing

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12
    AAHH sweet success, all I needed to do was remove my hands from my pockets, get out some tools and meters.The vent is boarder line but ok ,found the high fire pressure switch had some resistance when closed causing some confusion on the board.This only happened when calling for high fire, so low fire for now until new switch installed.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,382
    Quote Originally Posted by muskey View Post
    AAHH sweet success, all I needed to do was remove my hands from my pockets, get out some tools and meters.The vent is boarder line but ok ,found the high fire pressure switch had some resistance when closed causing some confusion on the board.This only happened when calling for high fire, so low fire for now until new switch installed.
    Nice work in finding the problem.
    Instead of learning the tricks of the trade, learn the trade.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Yes I had some fun with the site think I will look around to see who I can help.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by muskey View Post
    Just hate to spend money on a 6 year old gibson funace to find it was the wrong part.When I can buy a new funace at cost and install it.
    ...if you really are in the trade, why do you have a Gibson?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    12
    Good point, it was in the house when I bought it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event