Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    237

    RHEEM FlameSensor its not !

    RGRJ10EZAJS ser GE5D307F480514597 Got a lo-o-o-ong distance service call.,trying to be smart on what to bring. Unit fires up Ind. motor..,HSI lites burners..,runs for few seconds and shuts down. Flame sensor was cleaned. Then replaced with O.M.E. sensor.,same thing. Customer does mention "flame lite" on board does not come on. Sorry guys thats all Ive got. Thanks ahead!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    611
    Flame sensor must be good.
    Clean burners and add grounding wire up to burners.
    Check the voltage on the flame sensor wire to ground, should be above 30 volts minimum and hopefully higher.
    Could be poor graounding all the way to the elec. panel.
    luck dan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,028
    Also flame must be grounded. Make sure flame is not "lifting" off the burner.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Caledonia WI
    Posts
    881
    I would bring a pressure switch, contact cleaner and a board if you have it (i carry these anyway) check flame sensor wire, sometimes the harness gets damp or wet and will lock it out, pressure switch and hoses and check drain trap and hoses.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Ripley, WV
    Posts
    1,156
    Quote Originally Posted by billg View Post
    I would bring a pressure switch, contact cleaner and a board if you have it (i carry these anyway) check flame sensor wire, sometimes the harness gets damp or wet and will lock it out, pressure switch and hoses and check drain trap and hoses.
    Had this happen to me on a York once. I missed it, fortunately my service manager didn't.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bristol Va.
    Posts
    450
    rheem/ruud hsi boards are I found bad about not sending out the proper voltage so the flame sensor is sensing nothing. check micro amps and if below .9 replace the board.

    dogboy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,031
    *

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    195
    Quote Originally Posted by danielworkerbee View Post
    Flame sensor must be good.
    Clean burners and add grounding wire up to burners.
    Check the voltage on the flame sensor wire to ground, should be above 30 volts minimum and hopefully higher.
    Could be poor graounding all the way to the elec. panel.
    luck dan
    Do you check this with sensor still connected to wire or remove it and check before it goes off. What do you use to ground the burner?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Bristol Va.
    Posts
    450
    I check it like I do all others, in series. I disconnect the wire from the sensor then connect one lead of my meter to the sensor and the other lead to the wire, I start the furnace and monitor the microamps. They usually go up after the igniter denergizes.

    dogboy

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    195
    Quote Originally Posted by DOGBOY View Post
    I check it like I do all others, in series. I disconnect the wire from the sensor then connect one lead of my meter to the sensor and the other lead to the wire, I start the furnace and monitor the microamps. They usually go up after the igniter denergizes.

    dogboy
    If you check it in series how would you check to ground?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,028
    Quote Originally Posted by Jesjen829 View Post
    If you check it in series how would you check to ground?
    I had the same question on this forum. It was explained to me to check from common to ground on the burner the voltage potiental should be very low around .3 . I experimented with this at my school on a unit with a functioning unit with a flame sensor and got a .45 reading some were around their should prove ground. If its not good on the burner work backwards

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    Posts
    237
    Looks like I will be making another trip! Checked continuity from board to flame sensor.,good. Tried all other tests mentioned,could not get my meter to read properly? Did get a low voltage once,around 27? There is two L.E.D. lites on board. Green which works..,and amber (flame) that doesnt,even when burners lite for 5 seconds. Customer says amber lite use to glow. Ordering a board Monday! Has anyone ever tried to "dead" ground flame sensor wire,or hold sensor probe on known good ground! I did, neither worked.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,906
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmicmuffin View Post
    There is two L.E.D. lites on board. Green which works..,and amber (flame) that doesnt,even when burners lite for 5 seconds. Customer says amber lite use to glow. Ordering a board Monday! Has anyone ever tried to "dead" ground flame sensor wire,or hold sensor probe on known good ground! I did, neither worked.
    If the flame sensor is not grounded good, the amber light will not come on "ever" also if this unit in an early model 1993-1994 you may just need to install the remote sensor kit. Your new ground will run straight to the board, to the molex plug, the directions that come with the kit are simple and to the point. My guess is since you already have the flame sensor it's been updated, but if the ground is not making a good connection at the molex plug on the board, it will not work, even with a new board, it has to make a good connection at the plug. Until you see the amber light, when its senses flame the thing will always shut down. It could be the board, but everyone I have ever worked on I just had to relocate the ground to the molex plug with the new sensor kit, and it fixed it. If everything else works on it, and it goes through the proper sequence, my bet is it's not the board, you have a ground issue.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event