Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21

Thread: Twinning

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    71

    Twinning

    Can variable speed air handlers be twinned?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,943
    Not that I'm aware of. Too many variations in the program settings for each motor and too many variables in pressure differentials that would cause an issue with each motor affecting the other motors needs.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    toms river nj
    Posts
    73
    not recomended seems they will fight each other
    happy holiday

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,943
    Quote Originally Posted by vtinknocker View Post
    not recomended seems they will fight each other
    happy holiday

    OK, more concise version of what I was trying to state
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    71

    RoBoTeq and vtinknocker

    Thanks!

    Merry Christmas

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    OK, more concise version of what I was trying to state

    Vtin, gave the Readers digest version. LOL
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Bad juju!
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Middle Tennessee
    Posts
    11,347

    twin

    Quote Originally Posted by rumn8r View Post
    Can variable speed air handlers be twinned?

    i have wired a few new goodman variable
    speed funaces(didnt twin them)but if i am not mistaken i think
    they can be twinned,i will call today to make sure

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,943
    Quote Originally Posted by Airmechanical View Post
    i have wired a few new goodman variable
    speed funaces(didnt twin them)but if i am not mistaken i think
    they can be twinned,i will call today to make sure
    I don't believe so. All variable speed blowers are essentially the same.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    8

    Talking

    Any furnace with V/S shouldn't be twinned

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in Hickville
    Posts
    9
    NO...Twinning of Variable Speed units is not allowed under anyones color of choice.

    Leave it to Carrier to come up with it though....

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    How would you like to be the one eating the repair bills on this bad boy when it starts puking up modules?



    Thats a quad VS furnace dual fuel nightmare.
    http://www.hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthr...highlight=quad


    If that don't make you shoot your drink out your nose, nothing will!
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,943
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    How would you like to be the one eating the repair bills on this bad boy when it starts puking up modules?



    Thats a quad VS furnace dual fuel nightmare.
    http://www.hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthr...highlight=quad


    If that don't make you shoot your drink out your nose, nothing will!
    I see a lot of controls on the side of those units. Depending on what aftermarket controls and what thermostat is being used, that could certainly be perfectly acceptable as a multi-furnace system with the potential for several heat settings. Looks like something I would do to accomodate a situation that required more heat then one furnace could provide. As long as the blowers are all on the same settings, there should be no problems.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event