Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: PROT485

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dyersburg, TN
    Posts
    164

    PROT485

    I am putting in a new bacnet carrier controls. I am leaving ivu and daisy chain 6 app controlers no of the mstp wire or devices are going g outside of the building. Where would yall place the PROT485 protector first middle or at the end thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    What? Who? Where?
    Posts
    1,690
    In the truck. Never worked with iVue, but if it was an ALC project with controllers in just one building I would not install a PROT485. BTW Carrier controllers are made by ALC.

    kontrol out

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, AB Canada
    Posts
    598
    Quote Originally Posted by jeremyr325 View Post
    I am putting in a new bacnet carrier controls. I am leaving ivu and daisy chain 6 app controlers no of the mstp wire or devices are going g outside of the building. Where would yall place the PROT485 protector first middle or at the end thanks for your help
    Good day Jeremy,

    There is an installation guide on the web that has some info for you.

    http://www.airsystemsinc.com/materia...cs/PROT485.pdf

    Cheers,

    Sam

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Chicago, Il
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by jeremyr325 View Post
    I am putting in a new bacnet carrier controls. I am leaving ivu and daisy chain 6 app controlers no of the mstp wire or devices are going g outside of the building. Where would yall place the PROT485 protector first middle or at the end thanks for your help
    Last device prior to network leaving the building.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by gerald18e View Post
    Last device prior to network leaving the building.
    I did not leave the building I had all split systems so don't need right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    63
    If you have it to use, it won't hurt. Think surge suppression - it isn't going to fix any problem you have right now, but, it might put a damper on nearby (not direct) lightning strikes. I would put as close to a solid ground connection as possible. If you can't find a way to ground it, don't waste your time putting it in.

    .ja.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Dyersburg, TN
    Posts
    164
    does it matter where i put it, at the first controller or last controller or in between? the documentation is not real clear on that? thank you for ur help

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania
    Posts
    63
    Although I would shoot for the location with the biggest risk (say, an elevator penthouse, or a fan in a doghouse) and then install a solid ground conductor; in your case it may not matter much, so put it where you can easily get to the best ground (shortest, straightest path). It does not even have to be in a controller's panel.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event