Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 32
  1. #1

    new fan motor loud and not starting

    So my HVAC fan motor has always been loud since we bought the condo. The motor finally died so I replaced it myself with an A.O. smith motor and it's been loud and is hard to start. I left the fan on "on" and just dealt with the loud noise for a couple months. Then last week it completely locked up. Luckily Grainger replaced the motor under warranty but now the new one is doing the same thing. It's loud when running and does not really start up. It sorts cranks slowly and usually needs me to spin the wheel to start.

    I did not replace the blower wheel but it looks okay, also the wheel is not hitting anything so its not making the loud rubbing noise. I figure the loud noise is from the wheel being out of balance, but would that cause a brand new motor to start failing after 2 days? an out of balanced motor shouldn't prevent it from starting, would it?

    Also I did need to purchase a capacitor when buying the 1st motor. Not sure why the old motor did not require one.

    The grainger review said someone had same issue and replaced with Dayton motor. I just don't want to spend the money on another motor and have the same issue.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    You need to spend the money on a tech that knows what they are doing. You have a very simple wiring issue or motor sizing issue that can be resolved by hiring an HVAC company. Or you can keep wasting money on motors.

  3. #3
    I don't believe in hiring people to do something I can do myself. Its wired properly and runs on both low and high speed Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.

    I'd rather spend the money on a complete hvac and install myself then hire someone. That is why I posted on here for assistance. How about pointing me in the right direction so I can learn?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    He did point you in the right direction, if you could do it yourself it would work right?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    Quote Originally Posted by justinm001 View Post
    Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.
    PULLING the correct voltage??? 120v to GROUND?? You REALLY need to make a phone call!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    He did point you in the right direction, if you could do it yourself it would work right?
    Not if the canooter valve in the flux capacitor is bad.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    butler pa
    Posts
    1,073
    the magic smoke shall be released shortly

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    C&P from a post he made back in July. This has been an ongoing problem. He just hasn't figured out yet that the problem is him:
    I replaced the 1/3HP 9.7Amp 4 stage motor with a 3 stage 1/3HP 4.6Amp motor. It was wired up only to use 2 stages, but seems only to run on high, whats the low stage for? Also how can I tell if I'm programed to use both stages, if theres a point.

    Main problem we're having is our upstairs is very hot. Our new motor is 1075rpm vs 1050rpm but isn't really noticeable

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    6,959
    Quote Originally Posted by justinm001 View Post
    I don't believe in hiring people to do something I can do myself. Its wired properly and runs on both low and high speed Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.

    I'd rather spend the money on a complete hvac and install myself then hire someone. That is why I posted on here for assistance. How about pointing me in the right direction so I can learn?
    I believe that Bamacool gave you sound advice. This is not meant to be disprectful but it is quite obvious that you have neither the knowledge or the proper tools to diagnose and repair it. Most of us on here earn our living by doing what you are attempting to do, if you would rather replace a entire system then hire a pro to fix your problem, you need to rethink the situation your in.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    Forgot to mention: I see no reason for the amp draw difference on the motors to mean anything. It should work, right?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,608
    Quote Originally Posted by justinm001 View Post
    I don't believe in hiring people to do something I can do myself. Its wired properly and runs on both low and high speed Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.

    I'd rather spend the money on a complete hvac and install myself then hire someone. That is why I posted on here for assistance. How about pointing me in the right direction so I can learn?
    im thinking that the problem is not the motor
    We really need change now

  12. #12
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary, or ask questions of the OP here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by beenthere; 01-26-2013 at 07:53 AM. Reason: Non Pro * Member

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,742
    Marxski09, this is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary or ask questions of the OP here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Your post has been deleted.
    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event