Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 32

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    new fan motor loud and not starting

    So my HVAC fan motor has always been loud since we bought the condo. The motor finally died so I replaced it myself with an A.O. smith motor and it's been loud and is hard to start. I left the fan on "on" and just dealt with the loud noise for a couple months. Then last week it completely locked up. Luckily Grainger replaced the motor under warranty but now the new one is doing the same thing. It's loud when running and does not really start up. It sorts cranks slowly and usually needs me to spin the wheel to start.

    I did not replace the blower wheel but it looks okay, also the wheel is not hitting anything so its not making the loud rubbing noise. I figure the loud noise is from the wheel being out of balance, but would that cause a brand new motor to start failing after 2 days? an out of balanced motor shouldn't prevent it from starting, would it?

    Also I did need to purchase a capacitor when buying the 1st motor. Not sure why the old motor did not require one.

    The grainger review said someone had same issue and replaced with Dayton motor. I just don't want to spend the money on another motor and have the same issue.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    You need to spend the money on a tech that knows what they are doing. You have a very simple wiring issue or motor sizing issue that can be resolved by hiring an HVAC company. Or you can keep wasting money on motors.

  3. #3
    I don't believe in hiring people to do something I can do myself. Its wired properly and runs on both low and high speed Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.

    I'd rather spend the money on a complete hvac and install myself then hire someone. That is why I posted on here for assistance. How about pointing me in the right direction so I can learn?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    Quote Originally Posted by justinm001 View Post
    Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.
    PULLING the correct voltage??? 120v to GROUND?? You REALLY need to make a phone call!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    6,959
    Quote Originally Posted by justinm001 View Post
    I don't believe in hiring people to do something I can do myself. Its wired properly and runs on both low and high speed Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.

    I'd rather spend the money on a complete hvac and install myself then hire someone. That is why I posted on here for assistance. How about pointing me in the right direction so I can learn?
    I believe that Bamacool gave you sound advice. This is not meant to be disprectful but it is quite obvious that you have neither the knowledge or the proper tools to diagnose and repair it. Most of us on here earn our living by doing what you are attempting to do, if you would rather replace a entire system then hire a pro to fix your problem, you need to rethink the situation your in.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,627
    Quote Originally Posted by justinm001 View Post
    I don't believe in hiring people to do something I can do myself. Its wired properly and runs on both low and high speed Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.

    I'd rather spend the money on a complete hvac and install myself then hire someone. That is why I posted on here for assistance. How about pointing me in the right direction so I can learn?
    im thinking that the problem is not the motor
    We really need change now

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by justinm001 View Post
    I don't believe in hiring people to do something I can do myself. Its wired properly and runs on both low and high speed Also seems to be pulling the correct voltage. It's an AC motor, 120V and ground should make it work, I don't see where there is a wiring issue.

    I'd rather spend the money on a complete hvac and install myself then hire someone. That is why I posted on here for assistance. How about pointing me in the right direction so I can learn?
    Well if you really want help to DIY, here's what you are going to need. 1) Fluke true RMS Model 375, Cost $250-350, 2) 2 years tradesman schooling in electrical/HVAC repair, Cost $10,000 to $20,000, 3) Artisan Insurance Policy covering $1-$2 Million, Cost $1000, Grand Total to DIY (run the risk of fire, damage to property or life)Cost $21,350....... or you could hire a licensed HVAC contractor who could troubleshoot and repair/replace your problem for a FRACTION of that cost and and a fraction of time. Cheers.

    BTW the Professionals here on the forum LOVE helping people, It's what we do for a living. We even give valuable tips and free service call to our friends, but we cannot give help to the ignorant DIYer who might get them self killed, and their family tries to hold us accountable for their stupidity. For example: Your problem, fan motor is used on a gas furnace, it doesn't move enough air over the heat exchanger, causing it to crack prematurely, and because you have bypassed the CO detector because it was "making to much noise" your family never wakes up....... PLEASE hire a Professional.

  8. #8
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary, or ask questions of the OP here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by beenthere; 02-01-2013 at 09:51 PM. Reason: Non Pro * Member

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,344
    Ok, fair enough.

    The right approach is to number 1 know your limitations and number 2 once you know your limitations hire a professional. You have proven that this task exceeded your ability to do it correctly.

    Learn from it.

    And no, there is not enough skillset crossover from IT to HVAC.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    He did point you in the right direction, if you could do it yourself it would work right?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    He did point you in the right direction, if you could do it yourself it would work right?
    Not if the canooter valve in the flux capacitor is bad.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    butler pa
    Posts
    1,073
    the magic smoke shall be released shortly

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    909
    Forgot to mention: I see no reason for the amp draw difference on the motors to mean anything. It should work, right?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event