Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 31

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Savannah, NY
    Posts
    82

    Discharge pressure on ice machine?

    According to the maunal on my Scotsman 1356 the discharge pressure should be 245. Now is that all the time or when it going through a freeze or a harvest cycle? I've been trying to adjust it but it keeps kicking out on high pressure overload.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,748
    not sure on scotsman but most of the time when IM manufacturers list operating pressures it is 5-10 minutes into freeze cycle.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Denver , Co.
    Posts
    109
    water cooled or air cooled , Man i remember a couple years ago Scotsman had issues with the dist. tubes coming off TXV , causing uneven ice forms and high head , if its a remote ,
    check your gas level a lot of guys don't realize that those units are charged at factory they install and start dumping 404a into line sets , as far as pressure with fan cycling or water reg valve
    you should have operating temp fairly quick

    Ice V
    Outlaw guns? only outlaws will have guns
    Those who live by the sword are SHOT by us who don't.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Savannah, NY
    Posts
    82
    Ice,

    Sorry it is water cooled. That's what I'm talking about is the regulator that adjusts the water pressure going through the condenser. The amount of water flow adjusts the head pressure. I need to adjust it so its at 245 but not sure at what point in the procedure it needs to run at 245. Hope I'm making since.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Guayaquil EC
    Posts
    10,392
    Water-cooled machines will typically run at the same discharge pressure all the time because the water regulating valve controls the pressure. If the supply water temperature is too high or the available pressure is too low, then of course, even a wide open regulating valve won't help.

    To set the pressure at 245 psig, I recommend adjusting to a slightly higher pressure like 260 psig or so, and then slowly dial down to 245 psig.

    Also...It's a good idea to do this about 5 minutes into the freeze cycle.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    What is the discharge pressure doing? Steady? Steady climb? Hunting up and down? What pressure is it tripping at? Back valve way off before you start the machine and evaluate. Is water coming out hot, warm, or cool? Need to gather some more info to lead us to the actual problem.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    673
    245# is the setting for freeze cycle

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Savannah, NY
    Posts
    82
    It wasn't harvesting. It wasn't getting a high enough head pressure when the hot gas valve opened, hence not hot enough gas, to break the ice off the evaporator. I was trying to set the water pressure regulator but I don't think my charge is right to get it where I need it. Let's just say there's been a lot of hands in this machine before they came to me. We have a lot of guys here that have the attitude if its not running right I must need a shot of freon!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    Confused now. Tripping on high head but not high enough head to harvest?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York, ny
    Posts
    189
    What pressure is it cutting out at.

    Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Savannah, NY
    Posts
    82
    When I wasn't high enough I was trying to set it and no matter where I set it it was tripping out. That's why I was asking at what point in the sequence I needed to set it. Also that's why I'm thinking my charge may be off. Hope I'm making sense here.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York, ny
    Posts
    189
    How long into the cycle did it trip? Did you check amps?.. are you sure its tripping on high head. Usually you will see on most units that high head will cut off at around 300 or above.. so definitely double check what your tripping on and at what pressure...

    Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    Don't know if charge is the issue or not. Easy to know for sure. Pull it. Weigh it and see. Evacuate and weigh correct charge in. I would do alittle more checking first though. Find out what it actually tripping and why. Is it HP or comp internal OL? Still alittle confused with the info provided.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event