Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Northern california
    Posts
    65

    E2 to laptop connection using ultra site. Can't connect

    Can anyone tell me how to access an E2 using the ultra site so that I can back up the program. I have the latest 5.04 on my laptop. I open ultra site, connect my ethernet cable. But I cannot seem to view anything using the laptop. I read somewhere that you have to change the IP address of the laptop in order to communicate. Help.
    Do you have to have higher than the level 4 to do this? Thanks in advance. I can operate and make changes using the E2 controller.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,418
    You need to make sure that the IP addresses are "compatible" not certain of the correct terminology.

    ALSO, you need to have the correct TYPE of cable. A standard ethernet cable WON'T work.

    IP 198.168.0.2 for the machine and 198.168.0.1 for the PC should work out for ya.

    Get a crossover type cable.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Northern california
    Posts
    65
    Thanks. I will try to find a crossover cable. The contractor that installed the E2 for me, told me that I just needed a cat5 Ethernet cable. I will go to the fry's(computer store in Califormia) and see if they have one of those crossover cables. I will google how to change the ip address on my laptop and I will go out to the site on Saturday to see if I can connect to the E2. Thanks, again. Karl.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    5,501
    Don't for get to set utrasite to direct connect.
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

    To apply for professional membership click here


    Educational forums are open.

    If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,064
    Straight Cat5 or a crossover cable will work.

    And set up UltraSite communications information to TCP/IP for your site.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,064
    And depending how many E2's you have on site, and how they're communicating with each other & whether they are on the stores network or not, will determine IP addressing.

    Default out of the box IP is 2.2.2.2 so make your laptop 2.2.2.3

    If its multiple controllers on a store network, it's a bit different ;-)

    No 2 IP addresses can be the same

    I usually take my laptop far out of range, 2.2.2.100

    UltraSite TCP/IP must match a E2 IP to connect into the network, ideally the E2 you are plugged into

    E2; 2.2.2.2
    UltraSite: 2.2.2.2
    Laptop: 2.2.2.100

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Northern california
    Posts
    65
    Update. Went to site. (Changed laptop icp to 192.168.0.2 Internet protocol version 4 (TCP/IPv4)) there is also a (Internet protocol version 6(Tcp/pv6) that I did not set)
    E2 came set as 192.168.0.1 subnet is 255.255.255.0 default gateway is .0.0.0.0
    Connected Ethernet cable from laptop to E2. Still can't communicate! Does it normally auto connect or do you have to click on the tool bar to connect?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,064
    you will be better served with a 9 pin serial connector.

    If your laptop doesn't have a serial port, get a usb to serial adapter.

    Then do as Cracker says, set UltraSite to Direct Connect, set your port number and baud rate.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    5,501
    Quote Originally Posted by Phase Loss View Post
    you will be better served with a 9 pin serial connector.

    If your laptop doesn't have a serial port, get a usb to serial adapter.

    Then do as Cracker says, set UltraSite to Direct Connect, set your port number and baud rate.

    I agree the 9 pin is way better.
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

    To apply for professional membership click here


    Educational forums are open.

    If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Northern california
    Posts
    65
    There is only one E2 on site. I will go get a USB to 9 pin adapter. Maybe something is wrong with the ultra site(5.04) I cannot see where to set it to direct connect.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    5,501
    Quote Originally Posted by Icefixer View Post
    There is only one E2 on site. I will go get a USB to 9 pin adapter. Maybe something is wrong with the ultra site(5.04) I cannot see where to set it to direct connect.


    Just like this.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

    To apply for professional membership click here


    Educational forums are open.

    If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Northern california
    Posts
    65
    Thanks. I found that before. I click on it. The window pops up. But I cannot input or type anything in the window. It's like it's offline and I cannot type in the window. The setup and uninstall buttons are not highlighted and I cannot click on it. Weird

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    5,501
    Quote Originally Posted by Icefixer View Post
    Thanks. I found that before. I click on it. The window pops up. But I cannot input or type anything in the window. It's like it's offline and I cannot type in the window. The setup and uninstall buttons are not highlighted and I cannot click on it. Weird

    There is nothing to type in you just pick modem or direct connect.
    I love the smell of phosgene first thing in the morning:

    To apply for professional membership click here


    Educational forums are open.

    If you would like to submit a link or an article or other related info to the EF. click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event