Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    221

    Trane CGAD Help!

    I have a Trane CGADC25GAGA1FGTW that I need a reference manual for if anyone can post one up, I would greatly appreciate it.
    In the meantime, the problem I'm having is this chiller is not shutting off at setpoint, it runs until it hits the minimum leaving chilled water setpoint (35*) It then shuts off due to internal limit then restarts, with low outside ambients it's causing the hgbp to run for more than 30 mins which locks out the chiller. My sensors appear to all be reading accurately, but once my temperature gets down to setpoint it just keeps going. I tried to get into operation settings but the rocker switch on the board is stuck and won't budge, I believe I need a new control panel based on that alone, but any input would be appreciated to help me come to a more sound conclusion. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    City That Never Sleeps
    Posts
    66
    Serial number? What happens when you raise the setpoint as hi as possible? Still runs?

    Newer HI panel or the older A1, A2 blue panel control setoint screen?

    I have over 10 years of manual all in books no PDF's to post up.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by Trane Tech NYC View Post
    Serial number? What happens when you raise the setpoint as hi as possible? Still runs?
    Sorry, I completely forgot to list the year, it's a J92E82516. Yes, I drove the setpoint all the way up and it continues to chill the water until it hits the minimum leaving water temp. No .pdf is fine, if you can assist me that would be great, thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by Trane Tech NYC View Post
    Newer HI panel or the older A1, A2 blue panel control setoint screen?
    It's a x13650346-03 control panel, it's a black panel, has the 'J' setpoint knob on the left with the delta setpoint knob below it and a black rocker switch on the left to access service or operation setpoints. That rocker switch is stuck as well, it won't switch to operation setpoints.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    City That Never Sleeps
    Posts
    66
    Ok so its the older panel just by seeing the serial number. Do you know how to get into the service settings of the panel? Take the side cover off where you expose all the dip switches and there should be a rocker switch that if I remember correctly says setpoints/service or something along those lines, if you toggle that you can adjust its actual setpoint, delta T and one value that i cant remember that was factory set at 25 and was not to be changed for the life of me I cant remember the name of that value or which alpha letter it fell under.

    Example A was operating code B was diagnostics C was current diagnostics D was setpoint you get my drift when you change that rocker switch you can get to more settings I , J , K and so fourth someone may have changed a setting or dip switch somewhere is what it sounds like. Need to know what all those values are at and also make sure ALL the dip swithches are in there corretc position, there should be a diagram on the door telling you the position of the dip swithhes for that particular chiller. No other diagnostics other then it bouncing off the low temp?

    I had a similar unit giving false diagnostics due to improper dip switch settings these chillers are very tricky to diagnose as you can tell.

    I will get that manual and post more its in my storage unit.

    Sorry I cant be more help right now.

    Just read that you cant get to the service settings are all the dip switches correct? Not being able to get into that menu and see those settings is an issue right there. If I remember correctly they dont make those anymore you may get a rebuilt one from Trane but they will want that old one back to rebuild it. I went thru that a few times.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by Trane Tech NYC View Post
    Just read that you cant get to the service settings are all the dip switches correct? Not being able to get into that menu and see those settings is an issue right there. If I remember correctly they dont make those anymore you may get a rebuilt one from Trane but they will want that old one back to rebuild it. I went thru that a few times.
    Yes, the dip switches are correct and haven't ever been changed, the rocker switch is puzzling me, it won't budge, so I cant access most of the operation setpoints. You are correct about it not being available anymore for just the UCM, you have to replace the entire panel. I'm trying to avoid that, but it's not looking good.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3,124
    If you have to replace that panel, you'd be better off to just scrap the whole thing. It's a 20 year old 40 ton air-cooled chiller. You can set a brand new CGAM, which is a great machine btw, in it's place.
    "There is no greater inequality than the equal treatment of unequals."

    -Thomas Jefferson

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    City That Never Sleeps
    Posts
    66
    Have to agree that CGAM is pretty stoudt piece of machinery.

    http://www.trane.com/webcache/rf/scr...n_10042012.pdf

    Going to be hard to sell though, change modules $2-5k or new chiller $30-40K you know which one the customer is going to go with.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3,124
    Can you do a CH531 upgrade on that chiller that cheap? That old "Cyclone" UCM MOD275 is no longer available.
    "There is no greater inequality than the equal treatment of unequals."

    -Thomas Jefferson

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    City That Never Sleeps
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by Tech Rob View Post
    Can you do a CH531 upgrade on that chiller that cheap? That old "Cyclone" UCM MOD275 is no longer available.
    I think you can maybe a tad more money.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    The Hot South
    Posts
    1,354
    That controller is not available anymore. If it needs to be replaced, your only option is a CH530 controls upgrade.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event