Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91

    Amana Commerical Microwave

    Model# RCS- 10 YTS
    115-120volts

    Problem- everything functions except the microwave radiation effect

    Obviously I called tech support and they ended up saying the magnatron was bag. Note; the unit was pulling 4-5 amps when the original magnatron was in and had it trying to microwave something but nothing.
    The fan cuts on when the door opens and pulls about 0.4 amps but nothing anywhere else. So tech support said ohm the secondary to ground and it should have from 75-95 ohms and it had 85. Remember the fuse inside is fine. Tech support said of all that checks out then it's the magnatron which was under warranty. Got the new part, installed and still nothing. Tech support said it should be pulling around 14 amps at the transformer but nothing. Is there any advice I could get? Door switch works and things like like. It's a simple thing why does it have to be difficult. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    13
    Did you meter the capacitor? if it is good . get a megometer and check the high voltage diode...(rectifier) if bad replace. good luck Joseph....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91
    I checked the capacitor rated for 1.08 Uf and I got .80 uF

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    British Columbia
    Posts
    13
    .80 is a little low ..Does this unit have a high voltage diode? it is on the output side of the cap to the frame of the microwave?...i would be looking at that...it only allows voltage one way..if it is going both ways(leaking) the mag will not work.....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91
    It does have one of those from the capacitor to ground, it's kind of insulated about 2 inchs long. How do you check it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    789
    I trusted a capacitor once that was a little out of tolerence and ended up on a wild goose chase. It ended up being the problem. With that reading, I'm sure Amana Comserv would tell you to replace it. As creeker66 suggested, a megometer (megohmmeter or megger) can be used to test the high voltage diode.

    If you're certain the power transformer is getting its 120, has a good secondary winding (per the ohmmeter) and the magnetron is good, the cap & diode are suspect.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91
    Thanks ill check it out

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91
    Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1359400846.935212.jpg
Views: 252
Size:  64.0 KB

    What do you guys think

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91
    I used a different meter to check the uF rating on the 1.05 capacitor and it's reading 1.3uF

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    SE Washington
    Posts
    537
    trim your nails!
    Total Energy Management, inc

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91
    Everybody says that, they grow so fast! I need technical advice not grooming haha

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    91
    This microwave sucks

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    248
    Have you checked the interlock switch? I had one on the ones that McDonalds uses do the same thing, and the interlock swich was having problems. It looked good and once I swapped it out to test the problem went away

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph12345 View Post
    Model# RCS- 10 YTS
    115-120volts

    Problem- everything functions except the microwave radiation effect

    Obviously I called tech support and they ended up saying the magnatron was bag. Note; the unit was pulling 4-5 amps when the original magnatron was in and had it trying to microwave something but nothing.
    The fan cuts on when the door opens and pulls about 0.4 amps but nothing anywhere else. So tech support said ohm the secondary to ground and it should have from 75-95 ohms and it had 85. Remember the fuse inside is fine. Tech support said of all that checks out then it's the magnatron which was under warranty. Got the new part, installed and still nothing. Tech support said it should be pulling around 14 amps at the transformer but nothing. Is there any advice I could get? Door switch works and things like like. It's a simple thing why does it have to be difficult. Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event