Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    12

    furnace red tagged no rating plate

    Hello everyone. My name is Kirk and Im new on here so I hope you can help me.I have a Keeprite gas furnace installed in Jan 91.Its a 69,000 btu model with standing pilot light....The rating plate is missing and the gas utility has shut it down.Does anyone know if there is a serial or model number anywhere else on the unit? It needs a cleaning but other than that its fine (no CO. or gas leaks and burners are working fine)...........so unless I can ID. this unit I have no heat......thanks Kirk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    North East Ohio
    Posts
    769
    did they shut it down because it was unsafe? I cant believe they would red tag it because of a missing label. How do you know its 69K btu?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Portland OR
    Posts
    1,942
    I have not heard of people shutting down a furnace for no name plate before unless there is a potential issue or harm like a crack in the heat exchanger even though there is no CO2
    Check out my YouTube channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/skyheating1 We have customer testimonials, product reviews and more!
    Like us on FACEBOOK if you like our advice here!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    12
    The guy is making excuses..he said there was rust but its not, its male cat urine thats dried on the ductwork between the joists and duct.Its water soluable and can be also be scraped or sanded off.Its galvanized to begin with...............It does need a good cleaning and even if I get someone out they have locked the meter thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    12
    I was told it was 69,ooo by someone several yrs ago now(he was commenting that is was too big for a 750 sq ft house.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,665
    Normally the Local Gas Company would not lock off a gas meter unless
    there is a potentially dangerous situation regarding either a gas leak or some danger to your safety.

    I would call them and speak to the supervisor about it pronto and Find out what you need to do to rectify
    the situation.
    Last edited by small change; 01-20-2013 at 02:27 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    12
    the tag says no rating plate (cant make out code reference). also says maintenance required before activation of appliance again I cant make out code....thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    12
    what if I turn it on ,they wont find out untill the spring and by then I can probably get the situation corrected somehow...thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    87
    Quote Originally Posted by billyjoey View Post
    what if I turn it on ,they wont find out untill the spring and by then I can probably get the situation corrected somehow...thanks
    If they tagged it, I wouldn't recommend you turning it back on until you have a qualified professional check it out and have the utility company explained why they shut it down to begin with. In my area when they tag something and it states "maintenance required," usually the burners are so dirty that there are combustion/drafting issues that can be hazardous.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    1,665
    Quote Originally Posted by billyjoey View Post
    what if I turn it on ,they wont find out untill the spring and by then I can probably get the situation corrected somehow...thanks
    Nope.

    Theft of Services which could be a misdemeanor or a felony depending upon how much
    natural gas is consumed. You will also be responsible for the equipment you break/destroy.

    What if you cause a natural gas leak while tampering the lock on the meter.

    Is your well being and maybe those of your family worth this?


    Don't do the Crime , If you can't do the time

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    12
    I specifically asked about the burners and was told they were ok.I was told I now need this rating plate or copy of specs.to then service the furnace and then turn back on..thanks

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,156
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 01-20-2013 at 03:12 PM. Reason: Non AOP member

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,400
    54regcab


    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event