Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,747

    weak internal OL ??

    Victory VF-1 stand up reach in single stainless door freezer

    Compressor is AFE13C3E-IAA-901 copeland

    complaint , wont hold temp , imagine that

    200 high , 5 low , 50 deg inside box ( no product ) , pullin 12 amps

    Feel drier , its warm incoming , and cold right where the cap tubes are brazed into the stub. I knew then its got to be clogged. Normally they are warm a couples inches up cap tube before they get cold.

    Cut it out , then cut it open , sure enough the dessicant beads had busted through the screen and clogged it up.

    Install new drier , amazingly caps still looked good , I could blow through both caps just fine , braze back in.

    Both coils clean

    Pull her down , Weigh in 10 OZ 404

    Fire it up , I have 210 high , 28 low , pulling 9.2 amps , evap frosting evenly

    10 min later the evap fan comes on , starts falling from 50 degrees to 45

    210 high , 25 low 9 amps , cant measure Sh Sc , cant find my dam clamp on

    Few minutes later for no reason ..... compressor shuts down.

    CRAP

    Few minutes later hear "click" hmmmmmmm Click

    Throw infared thermometer on shell , reads 145 deg , seems normal , but whatever , Get out ice , cool it down.

    Runs again 10 minutes , evap frosting nicely , fan kicks on

    Few min later compr shuts down.

    Crap

    Before I beat it with a hammer , I pack up and go home.

    Why would it shut down when everything is going so well ??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    826
    click hmmmmmmmm click cause it didnt equalize.... why it shut down, not sure, was it the ol that opened?? if so, yah its weak from running too hot while cap tube was plugged...
    just a guess, had a few beerz... first day off call after a week :-)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    826
    Change all the start $#it to be safe

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,747
    I threw 3n1 on it , same thing

    It would shut down after 10 min , then after that , the 3n1 would click off a few seconds later on its own OL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York, ny
    Posts
    182
    Your amps are high just check the model number on the net, you should be around 6.4. So your overload is actually doing its job.

    Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    826
    whats fla?? whats the 3in1 rated at?? u have yer meter on it when she craps out?? somthin makin amps spike?? non condensables i dunno...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    826
    thankx grkmano.. beat me to it
    Comp gettin tight?? Doesnt sound over charged

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York, ny
    Posts
    182
    Exactly you probably had no oil return and now the compressor over working to pump.

    Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    826
    Quote Originally Posted by grkmano View Post
    Exactly you probably had no oil return and now the compressor over working to pump.
    yup.. new pump.... crappy deal for your custumer , but thats life.. probley originally caused by lack of maint. wus the cond plugged??

    Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
    yup.. new pump.... crappy deal for your custumer , but thats life.. probley originally caused by lack of maint. wus the cond plugged??

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,747
    cond was clean , the owner cleans them himself , hes a long time restaurant owner.

    I didnt even think about oil return issues while it was plugged up ...

    Yea I see now that compressor has a rating of 6.4 ... son of a

    Its probably slightly scored up inside , just enough to run

    The problem was the drier failed , the screen had a tiny rip , let all the dessicant out

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    2,747
    Quote Originally Posted by grkmano View Post
    Exactly you probably had no oil return and now the compressor over working to pump.

    Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
    is this a job for Supco 88 ... or just go ahead with new compr

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    826
    Well, we all know what has to happen now......
    Ps why isnt anyone helping me with this -150 lab freezer... dammit

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,302
    Quote Originally Posted by coolerik View Post
    Well, we all know what has to happen now......
    Ps why isnt anyone helping me with this -150 lab freezer... dammit
    Cause you're the guinea pig
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    It was working when I left...
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event