Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 29
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    20
    Im with the two stage furnace two stage Tstat. That being said if there are wiring constraints and for some cost issues single stage and set to delay would work. I am in a severe climate so a delay probably is not the best.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,057
    IMO it depends on the part of the country you are in and the customer.

    As noted in my previous post... some customers only buy the VS furnace... not a full 2 stage system.

    Also... many folks only want hot or cold air coming from the vents... they are not smart enough nor sensitive enough to appreciate 'comfort'. The reason I sell them VS furnaces is humidity control... in my climate everyone likes humidity control.

    Now a question: Why sell a customer something they do not need, want, understand, or even can tell the difference?
    IMO it is not good customer service to force stuff on the customer... it surely is not good value for the customer.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,215
    Quote Originally Posted by smoke View Post
    How often does a customer buy a 2 stage furnace without a 2 stage air conditioner? Why would you force a furnace to run for 5-10 or even 20 minutes before kicking in to second stage when the customer just turned the thermostat up 6 degrees?
    Why not sell the customer full functionality?


    ~smoke~
    I see a LOT of 2 stage furances w/o a 2 stage AC. Going from single to 2 stage on a furance is relatively inexpensive comapred to makign the 2 stage jump on AC. I can count on 1 hand how many 2 stage AC units I've seen installed, they just aren't that common.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    wisconsin
    Posts
    270
    Quote Originally Posted by smoke View Post
    nismo1, check out the Honeywell wireless stats. You can get them in a Focus Pro style up to the Prestige line. 2wire or no wire applications

    ~smoke~
    The carrier edge stats are great too, only require two wires to do power up, they also do humidity, up to two stages heat and cool and or a heat pump. Weve installed lots of them on geothermal, and other systems.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,903
    Quote Originally Posted by ga-hvac-tech View Post
    IMO it depends on the part of the country you are in and the customer.

    As noted in my previous post... some customers only buy the VS furnace... not a full 2 stage system.

    Also... many folks only want hot or cold air coming from the vents... they are not smart enough nor sensitive enough to appreciate 'comfort'. The reason I sell them VS furnaces is humidity control... in my climate everyone likes humidity control.

    Now a question: Why sell a customer something they do not need, want, understand, or even can tell the difference?
    IMO it is not good customer service to force stuff on the customer... it surely is not good value for the customer.
    How do you know that the customer wouldn't know the difference?

    Shouldn't customers like that not purchase 2-stage furnaces to begin with?

    Why not just offer it as an optional upgrade?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Quote Originally Posted by coolwhip View Post
    If you set it up with a single stage stat, then it will not function as a true 2 stage furnace....it will simply work off a timer.
    Still functions a a true 2 stage furnace, since it is a true 2 stage furnace. Doesn't provide the comfort he customer paid for though.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Quote Originally Posted by ga-hvac-tech View Post
    IMO it depends on the part of the country you are in and the customer.

    As noted in my previous post... some customers only buy the VS furnace... not a full 2 stage system.

    Also... many folks only want hot or cold air coming from the vents... they are not smart enough nor sensitive enough to appreciate 'comfort'. The reason I sell them VS furnaces is humidity control... in my climate everyone likes humidity control.

    Now a question: Why sell a customer something they do not need, want, understand, or even can tell the difference?
    IMO it is not good customer service to force stuff on the customer... it surely is not good value for the customer.
    I think its member "mayguy" that had a 2 stage set up to use the timer. He said it worked great and provided him with plenty of comfort and he didn't think a 2 stage stat would make any difference to him. He eventually tried a 2 stage stat, which improved his comfort even more.

    Moral, a customer can't know what their missing until they have had it.

    If its only going into second stage after 5 or 10 minutes only a few times a year. I'm guessing you have to use a furnace larger then the heat load needs in order to get the size blower you need.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,215
    I've found a few 2 stage furnaces with stage 2 disconnected. Furance was oversized so the customer didn't know the differnce. The contractor could have sold a smaller single stage but didn't.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,057
    Quote Originally Posted by amd View Post
    How do you know that the customer wouldn't know the difference?

    Shouldn't customers like that not purchase 2-stage furnaces to begin with?

    Why not just offer it as an optional upgrade?
    Ass-u-me-ing... is not a good way to communicate....

    My sales process includes enough time (usually an hour or two) of discussion to determine the customers needs and wants... most of the time I am listening.

    When I spec the system for them... I already KNOW what they want (and do not want, and do not understand, and do not care about).
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,057
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    I think its member "mayguy" that had a 2 stage set up to use the timer. He said it worked great and provided him with plenty of comfort and he didn't think a 2 stage stat would make any difference to him. He eventually tried a 2 stage stat, which improved his comfort even more.

    Moral, a customer can't know what their missing until they have had it.

    If its only going into second stage after 5 or 10 minutes only a few times a year. I'm guessing you have to use a furnace larger then the heat load needs in order to get the size blower you need.
    Good observation... Generally, I like to use the largest furnace box I can... better airflow and lower static pressure. And remember... I am in an AC climate.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,057
    Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    I've found a few 2 stage furnaces with stage 2 disconnected. Furance was oversized so the customer didn't know the differnce. The contractor could have sold a smaller single stage but didn't.
    Yet the customer did not get a VS drive furnace... and does not have the dehum cycle. The dehum cycle is what I sell with the VS furnace. In this area... it is well worth it!
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,913
    Quote Originally Posted by ga-hvac-tech View Post
    Good observation... Generally, I like to use the largest furnace box I can... better airflow and lower static pressure. And remember... I am in an AC climate.
    You along with a fair number of other members are in the same boat. As far as you can't put in the smaller BTU furnace and still have the air flow the A/C needs. Guessing you have a fair number of 60,000 BTUs of heating needed, and 60,000 BTUs of cooling needed. That would make a 100,000 BTU 2 stage the smallest you could use I believe.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Atlanta GA area
    Posts
    21,057
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    You along with a fair number of other members are in the same boat. As far as you can't put in the smaller BTU furnace and still have the air flow the A/C needs. Guessing you have a fair number of 60,000 BTUs of heating needed, and 60,000 BTUs of cooling needed. That would make a 100,000 BTU 2 stage the smallest you could use I believe.
    Yes, this is the general reasoning... albeit the numbers are a little extreme.

    Most 'common folk' houses have a 30-35K BTU heat need... yet a 2.5 to 3 ton cooling need. Those little 12-14" wide furnace boxes will not flow enough air without excessive static pressure losses... and the coils... WOW are they restrictive. This is why I use a 70 or 75K (depending on the brand) 80% VS drive furnace... to get the airflow I want in cooling.

    The brand that makes the 75K furnace, has a model with a 4 ton blower... the other brand has a 90K with a 5 ton blower (both are wider cabinets with the same burners... just lots of room on each side). I use these furnaces regularly.

    Just a side note... I try to avoid 5 ton systems... better to have 2 systems. One reason would be two floors... another would be separate the master suite on the main floor from the living section of the house... better economy and comfort.
    GA-HVAC-Tech

    Quality work at a fair price with excellent customer service!

    Romans Ch's 5-6-7-8

    2 Chronicles 7:14

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event