Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    39

    First New furace/ac install

    I am a 22 year old 4th year student at Ferris State University in the HVACR program and this is one of the jobs i did over Christmas break before heading back to school. I took out two old 20+ year old Trane furnaces and condensing units that were were barely working. Name:  20130111_140126.jpg
Views: 933
Size:  43.4 KBName:  20130111_140209.jpg
Views: 881
Size:  69.9 KBName:  20130111_140152.jpg
Views: 839
Size:  42.9 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Wow didn't expect that out of a student, must have a good hvac program. Is this by yourself or with more experienced help?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    73
    A bachelors in HVAC -wow. Impressive work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    39
    Yea the first two years of the program are service work then the last two years are the engineering side, pipe/duct work sizing, controls, equipment selection. I had more experienced help there one day to help me pull wire because the old condensing units were 3 phase with 12g wire and the customer wanted 1 phase condensing units so we has to pull new 10g wire.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    100
    just to be an " A-hole" the traps are too shallow... j/k top notch work man.
    read,learn,grow.....repeat.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by samejj View Post
    just to be an " A-hole" the traps are too shallow... j/k top notch work man.
    At least there not vertical like some of the others we have seen ha ha

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    100
    go for 2" deep... had 3 poor trap calls this week and its only tuesday
    read,learn,grow.....repeat.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    240
    Looks great! Is that galvanized pipe for gas?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Anderson,SC
    Posts
    986
    Spend the extra and use a new pad.
    Are those elbows or did you use a bender.
    I use a bender, love it. Less brazing joints

    Stud

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Anderson,SC
    Posts
    986
    You have state license already?

    Do those units have factory LL driers?

    Stud

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    39
    it is black iron. the existing gas piping is painted grey

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    39
    why would i get a new pad when there was cement already there that i wasnt going to take out. i used benders and soft copper on the inside for the liquid line just to get me outside where i could run hard copper. the suction line is all hard copper.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    39
    the units have factory LL dries. and the other cool thing the furnaces were internally trapped so i didnt have to worry about one outside the unit. No state license yet, i am taking the test in march. I dont really need one because i can work under the company's mech license.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event