Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 19

Thread: Water Furnace

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palmyra, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    224

    Water Furnace

    New construction home with three zones.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    5,817
    Got anymore pics ?
    Belimo controls ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palmyra, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    224
    sorry. only one i took. trying to upload some other jobs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    3,393
    looks like the orange EWC's

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palmyra, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    224
    belimos

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    33
    Looks Good!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NW Iowa
    Posts
    104
    Thanks for the info. The reason I asked was I installed my ground source about 7 years ago and I have always thought the fan sounded loud. (A Lot of air noise) It is a two stage system which only uses two fan speeds also, and I don't believe it senses air pressure in any way. It did however have a small plenum opening, so I wondered if it may have made a difference if I had kept it this size for the 18". I think it may have more to do with putting a heat pump on old duct work. I have had no problems with it and the elec. bills are very low in the winter, just a bit noisey.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Champaign Illinois
    Posts
    97
    I don't have much experience with water furnace, but I have a lot with geocomfort does this unit have a variable speed blower?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palmyra, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    224
    Yes

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Champaign Illinois
    Posts
    97
    Well job looks very nice. One small thing though, the variable speed blowers require a min. Of 18 inches of the plenum height to be the same size as the opening on the top of the unit. The reason why is because the blower needs to have the resistance of the pressure of the duct as it try's to find the proper speed. The transition ( while nicely done) will not allow this to happen and you will experience harsh " huffing " noises and uneven airflow. This can cause the loss of capacity and motor damage. Other than that nice job.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    NW Iowa
    Posts
    104
    Jkb79-What do you mean by "huffing" noises?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Palmyra, Missouri, United States
    Posts
    224
    We have thousands identical

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Champaign Illinois
    Posts
    97
    Perhaps they use a different blower than geocomfort. I have also had the same problem on the climate masters. Last one I found was done with duct board and it sounded like someone was moving furniture around upstairs as it ran.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event