Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    46

    First New furace/ac install

    I am a 22 year old 4th year student at Ferris State University in the HVACR program and this is one of the jobs i did over Christmas break before heading back to school. I took out two old 20+ year old Trane furnaces and condensing units that were were barely working. Name:  20130111_140126.jpg
Views: 934
Size:  43.4 KBName:  20130111_140209.jpg
Views: 882
Size:  69.9 KBName:  20130111_140152.jpg
Views: 840
Size:  42.9 KB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Wow didn't expect that out of a student, must have a good hvac program. Is this by yourself or with more experienced help?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    73
    A bachelors in HVAC -wow. Impressive work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    46
    Yea the first two years of the program are service work then the last two years are the engineering side, pipe/duct work sizing, controls, equipment selection. I had more experienced help there one day to help me pull wire because the old condensing units were 3 phase with 12g wire and the customer wanted 1 phase condensing units so we has to pull new 10g wire.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    100
    just to be an " A-hole" the traps are too shallow... j/k top notch work man.
    read,learn,grow.....repeat.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by samejj View Post
    just to be an " A-hole" the traps are too shallow... j/k top notch work man.
    At least there not vertical like some of the others we have seen ha ha

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    100
    go for 2" deep... had 3 poor trap calls this week and its only tuesday
    read,learn,grow.....repeat.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    240
    Looks great! Is that galvanized pipe for gas?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Anderson,SC
    Posts
    997
    Spend the extra and use a new pad.
    Are those elbows or did you use a bender.
    I use a bender, love it. Less brazing joints

    Stud

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Anderson,SC
    Posts
    997
    You have state license already?

    Do those units have factory LL driers?

    Stud

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    46
    the units have factory LL dries. and the other cool thing the furnaces were internally trapped so i didnt have to worry about one outside the unit. No state license yet, i am taking the test in march. I dont really need one because i can work under the company's mech license.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Anderson,SC
    Posts
    997
    Sounds good to me,good luck.

    Stud

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sherwood Park Alberta
    Posts
    486
    Why is the overflow on the evapoartor coil not piped in?
    What happens to the water when the primary drain plugs up?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event