Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 30
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    53
    you were allowed to put the regulator in the house?

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Spokane, Washington
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by upant View Post
    you were allowed to put the regulator in the house?
    x2... not where I'm from. Not even 3' from an ignition source either! Even in industrial apps the regulators are required to be vented outside. Who needs heat in Florida anyways?

    Lead from Idaho...umph....traitor!.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    373
    We would red tag that in my area it would have to be in a protective sleeve like an oil line has and be clamped to the wall whare the regulator is for support.
    other then that you did a grate job for florida

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Mn the state where absolutey nothing is allowed
    Posts
    1,333
    that maxitrol r325 reg has a vent limiter that is approved for indoor use. however............

    there is no dirt pocket upstream to protect the reg, there is no dirt pocket downstream to protect the furnace gas valve. the only approved gas piping allowed in the furnace cabinet is BI.

    oh yeah the regulator vent limiter only works correctly when the reg is mounted horozontaly.

    so rework the gas line line, vent pipes and ensure the filter grill is sufficient for the blower package, your good to go
    my boss thinks its possible to repeal the laws of physics

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    7,748
    Don't see any supports/braces for that copper gas line.
    "The American Republic will endure until the day Congress discovers it can bribe the public with the public's own money.
    - Alexis de Toqueville, 1835

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    that install has zero chance of passing here..... few fix ups and your good to go..... some nice work there...
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    LP? Copper is a no go on natural gas around here.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Delaware County, PA
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by ACFIXR View Post
    looks good

    Are your pipes screened?

    Where is yourcondensate overflow switch?

    Gotta keep the stink bugs out...

  9. #22
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Dry as a bone Tucson
    Posts
    4,208
    Quote Originally Posted by Halcyon View Post
    Gotta keep the stink bugs out...
    birds too.........
    Some Talk, Some Do
    "keeping condensing pressures low and evaporator pressures high"
    Comfort is my goal
    Blog
    Web
    Facebook


  10. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    NC Sandhills
    Posts
    393
    we use the conical (looks like tip of a rpg) caps on vent pipes. Need something on vent termination if only cheap screening wire. Regulator would need to be run horizontal or at least the drip leg before regulater would have to tee down. Regulators are ok for indoor use but have to be in a access/in wall box in conditioned space. Copper is big around here also, not many people use steel anymore. When I was a pup my first main job was to set up/cut metal pipe and keep pipe threader lubed. Dont miss thoes days. I dont care for CSST but alot of newer guys are pushing it. Code wise thats the only differences I see compared to my area. Like has been said vent pipe in front of coil, float switch but a neat looking job. I like how you didnt undersize return box as a lot of other companies do and get terible return noise.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Panama City, FL
    Posts
    738
    Yep, as I said, only our 2nd 90+, so we'll get the hang of it.
    Inspected and passed without a word on the gas piping. I use a local gas company for the piping, so no word from them on alternatives. Copper has been the standard here for 30 years, and I see it throughout attics. They are good about labeling it, though.
    You can't learn a thing with your mouth open.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    NE philly
    Posts
    9
    can you use copper for code for gas?

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Western KY
    Posts
    1,221
    Copper is a no no for natural gas. Ok for LP.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event