Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Princeton NJ
    Posts
    125

    How adjustable is york modulating furnace?

    Hi,
    I currently have a 18 y.o. 80K btu 92% efficent trane upstairs. It is for 1500 sq ft. It short cycles (like my bedroom system)---comes on for 5 minutes, temp goes up 2 degrees and goes off. The duct is in a well ventilated antic, and is r4? ductboard.

    I'm in the process of replacing it. And minor duct work. The load calc supposedly was 56k, (which I think is high for above average 1995 construction)

    I was quoted a trane modulating “affinity” 60k unit. I've read briefly that the the long slow gentle heating isn't ideal for attic placed ductwork. Heat loss in the ducts. I'm wondering just how variable are the york modulating systems---could I set it to run in 10 minute cycles only, or even 5 minute cycles.
    What is the current preferred way to trade off comfort and shorter runs for efficiency? Stay with a single stage?

    Thanks
    Steve

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,245
    You're thinking too hard. Get the York affinity/Coleman echelon and you will be happy. Heat loss is heat loss, whoever told you that a modulating furnace is not good with "attic duct" is a door knob. And no you cannot manipulate its cycle hrough the furnace itself, The engineers are smart enough not to allow provisions for such non sense. I install a few of these a week and they are fantastic, especially when you have very low load requirements. You're going to do the dance of joy going from a grossly oversized single stage furnace to a mod.
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5,576
    Quote Originally Posted by LibertyTree View Post
    Heat loss is heat loss, whoever told you that a modulating furnace is not good with "attic duct" is a door knob.
    That's an unfortunate statement.

    http://www.bnl.gov/isd/documents/24650.pdf

    The OP may not be as happy with his modulating furnace when he has an opportunity to compare fuel costs. It's very possible that a single stage 80+ furnace on that duct system would have been more fuel efficient on average than the modulating 90+ furnace that he installed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,317
    No, you can't set it to have only X amount of run time. that would defeat the purpose of modulating.

    It will learn the house and adjust its firing rate and ramping accordingly.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Princeton NJ
    Posts
    125
    Got it installed last week, and it totally ROCKS! Rooms are always at 70, never any drift, and the unit is SILENT. wow. thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,317
    Your welcome. Glad you like it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event