Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Nj and Delaware
    Posts
    75

    Communicating Thermostat and Overflow Pan Monitoring Switch

    I have a Goodman CTK03AA thermostat controlling an Amana AVPTC series Air Handler and ASZC18 series heat pump. The airhandler has an overflow catch tray under it with a NC water sensor switch.

    The installer wired the sensor in series with the +24VAC powering the thermostat. I understand that if the tray fills, the power to the thermostat will be interrupted, the display will go dark and the system will shutdown. So in the world of "brute force" control, this wiring will be functional, but not very pretty.

    Since there is no "Y" or "R" control available as in a legacy control system, wondering if interrupting the 24VAC to the thermostat was the best way to signal a pan full condition for this system? It would seem that with all the "bells & whistles" built into the electronics, there should be a connection on the control board that would stop the compressor and throw an alarm on the CTK03.

    Tim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,992
    Should have bought a carrier/bryant that has that capability built into their communicating controls.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Tahlequah OK
    Posts
    131
    Wire the overflow switch in series with Y. This will stop the compressor.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,357
    Quote Originally Posted by welling service View Post
    Wire the overflow switch in series with Y. This will stop the compressor.
    Except there is no "Y" in a fully communicating system.

    There are ways to do this via relays.
    It's not the prettiest, but it works, is code, and all that great stuff.

    Nothing that specific can be talked about in these forums.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,245
    Quote Originally Posted by beshvac View Post
    Should have bought a carrier/bryant that has that capability built into their communicating controls.
    Then you get the crappiest heat exchanger on the planet as an added bonus.
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,805
    Quote Originally Posted by beshvac View Post
    Should have bought a carrier/bryant that has that capability built into their communicating controls.

    Don't believe they had that ability when they first came out either.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Nj and Delaware
    Posts
    75
    Hi beshvac,

    You said: "Should have bought a carrier/bryant that has that capability built into their communicating controls.
    It's not the Brand with the fewest repairs-It's all in the install!!! Attention to detail and using the best materials!"


    If I were to really have done it correctly, it would have been a cast iron wood stove or a geothermal! Alas the HOA has this thing about stainless smokepipe and I only own .25 Acres and there are deed restrictions on drilling wells , LOL.

    So you are saying the Brand should have some influence on the equipment selection?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    2,992
    Quote Originally Posted by pendetim View Post
    Hi beshvac,

    You said: "Should have bought a carrier/bryant that has that capability built into their communicating controls.
    It's not the Brand with the fewest repairs-It's all in the install!!! Attention to detail and using the best materials!"


    If I were to really have done it correctly, it would have been a cast iron wood stove or a geothermal! Alas the HOA has this thing about stainless smokepipe and I only own .25 Acres and there are deed restrictions on drilling wells , LOL.

    So you are saying the Brand should have some influence on the equipment selection?
    No, I am saying yours doesn't have the capability and that theirs does.

    Maybe they will get it someday like beenthere said...the carrier communicating controls did not have it when they first came out. (I put my first infinity in in 2004 and it didn't do it, but around 2007 i think it was added)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    Can the installer just wire the overflow switch in series with the door switch/interlock or in series with the primary to the low voltage transformer? Is that DIY instructions?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event