Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Confused Goodman GMP100-3 Fan Problem

    I've got a Goodman GMP100-3 that's giving me fits. The induced blower comes on fine, the gas comes on and ignites... but the blower fan doesn't come on. The furnace burns until the limit switch activates, at which point the gas goes off and the fan comes on and blows the slowly cooling air into the house. Once the burn chamber cools enough, the induced blower kicks on again and the cycle repeats until the thermostat temp is reached.

    The fan works fine in a/c mode.

    The furnace has a new circuit board, limit switch, and flame sensor.

    Help!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,964
    Please shut it off. You're going to seriously damage it.
    And call for service.
    "Hey Lama, hey, how about a little something, you know, for the effort." And he says, "there won't be any money, but when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total consciousness." So I got that goin' for me, which is nice. - Carl Spackler

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York, ny
    Posts
    188
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by jpsmith1cm; 01-09-2013 at 08:36 PM. Reason: non AOP member

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,400
    grkmano

    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum. In order to post a response here, you must have verified qualifications and have been approved by the AOP Committee. You may ask a question by starting a new thread.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Additional infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,843
    Quote Originally Posted by joerobbi View Post
    The furnace has a new circuit board, limit switch, and flame sensor.
    Don't think those parts are going to fix a bad speed on the motor.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,694
    You've come to the right place.

    To be advised to call a pro.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,670
    you MIGHT be able to get heat, until the knowledgeable service tech arrives, by placing the fan switch on the thermostat to "ON". If this activates the fan then you can use the furnace like this until the problem is fixed professionally. Leave the mode switch in "HEAT". the fan will run continually, but this keeps you warm and the furnace from overheating and needing replacement from damage by overheating!!!

    Calling a pro would have saved you the unnecessary money on the parts you listed.
    The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing the greatest amount of free meals and stamps EVER.
    Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us to "Please Do Not Feed the Animals". Their stated reason for this policy "... the animals become dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."
    from an excerpt by Paul Jacob in Sun City, AZ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event