Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 58
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Cincinnati ohio
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by Ac_man View Post
    I did check the high voltage and low voltage ground, they were firm and secured
    Dirty flame sensor, dirty/rusty burner face, low gas pressure and Bad ground will cause low flame signal which you don't have. The board can fail to sense that flame.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks bro

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Ac_man View Post
    Where should i check the ground
    I would start by checking from your "neutrals" on the board to any place on the chassis that is a good ground, make sure the unit is calling for heat. Also read it from the flame sensor to chassis and then to neutral on board, again make sure the unit is calling for heat. your going to read a .03 volts, maybe a little more or less, anymore you have a grounding issue.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    I would start by checking from your "neutrals" on the board to any place on the chassis that is a good ground, make sure the unit is calling for heat. Also read it from the flame sensor to chassis and then to neutral on board, again make sure the unit is calling for heat. your going to read a couple volts, anymore you have a grounding issue.
    Would i have to disconnect any neutral wires or just test to a OPEn neutral terminal?

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Ac_man View Post
    Would i have to disconnect any neutral wires or just test to a OPEn neutral terminal?
    I had to go back and edit the volts don't know what I was thinking, No just read from the way I listed it, you don't have to to disconnect anything. I had a 1993 Ruud unit last week that I discovered a bad ground on from the flame sensor to the board, it was acting the same as your unit. Most of the time I find it's a bad sensor or board, and I was just about to condemn the board when I discovered a bad ground. The ground wire from the sensor to the molex plug was loose, I have a tool to take out the pins in the molex plugs, and I just installed a new pin and it was good to go.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    45
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    I had to go back and edit the volts don't know what I was thinking, No just read from the way I listed it, you don't have to to disconnect anything. I had a 1993 Ruud unit last week that I discovered a bad ground on from the flame sensor to the board, it was acting the same as your unit. Most of the time I find it's a bad sensor or board, and I was just about to condemn the board when I discovered a bad ground.
    What did you do as a repair

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Ac_man View Post
    What did you do as a repair
    The wire from the sensor to the molex plug on the board was not making a good connection, I have a tool to take out the pins in the molex plugs, and I just pulled the old pin out, cut it off and installed a new pin and it was good to go.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,071
    does it have diagnostic light?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    45
    Thanks for the info

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Core_d View Post
    does it have diagnostic light?
    Can't always count on them, the Ruud unit I repaired was flashing a pressure switch code.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,071
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    I would start by checking from your "neutrals" on the board to any place on the chassis that is a good ground, make sure the unit is calling for heat. Also read it from the flame sensor to chassis and then to neutral on board, again make sure the unit is calling for heat. your going to read a .03 volts, maybe a little more or less, anymore you have a grounding issue.
    Thank you mister bill. I like that answer im gonna mess around with this next lab day at scool loosen wires and what not

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    east kansas
    Posts
    8,033
    What is the Model number of the furnace?
    Beware of advice given by some guy on the Internet.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Northwest Illinois
    Posts
    277
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    The wire from the sensor to the molex plug on the board was not making a good connection, I have a tool to take out the pins in the molex plugs, and I just pulled the old pin out, cut it off and installed a new pin and it was good to go.
    What is the tool you have, and where can it be purchased?

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event