Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    685
    Post Likes

    Honeywell pressuretrol w/ mod. won't reset

    Honeywell pressuretrol
    Replaced a series 1(worked for16 years) with series3. Noted connection changes and wired in.
    Controller worked 8 hrs., locked out on high limit. Will not reset.
    Maximum stored fixed limit is correct (14 psi @ 19.22 ma.)
    Zero psi on this 15psi boiler. Any advice appreciated.
    "Iron sharpeneth iron..."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Billington Heights, NY
    Posts
    14,858
    Post Likes
    Try a new one?
    Experience - knowing when to get the hell out of the way and plug your ears. "Don't be a sissy. Turn it on!"

    Poodle Head Mikey - "the world is well populated with the unknowing and the uncaring and the stupid."

    Jtrammel - "I’m going to sell hvac systems derp derp derp"
    BBeerme - "every time he opens his mouth, he reminds me of a cow without the fart bag."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    75,906
    Post Likes
    Are the pig tails clean.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    685
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    All connections clean and ran separate 16/2 shielded for the mA.
    Have been waiting on a return call from the mfrs. flame safeguard tech support for days.
    Call initiated through supplier.
    These are no longer made in this country so maybe there is a language challenge on my part.
    I am now on my second"new one"...

    At the point where I want to run an on/off man reset psi limit with a tee to a psi transducer and be done.
    "Iron sharpeneth iron..."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Windsor, Ont.
    Posts
    740
    Post Likes
    Did you press and hold the reset button and get the blink code to troubleshoot issue??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    3,026
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by atmosphere View Post

    At the point where I want to run an on/off man reset psi limit with a tee to a psi transducer and be done.
    I wouldn't do that, huge liability not only for you but for your employer. Your post is vague, cant really envision what are you dealing with, seems like high pressure safty limit but "MOD" or 4-20ma dont make a whole lot of sense, typical limits are on/off auto or manual reset. expand a little about control type, models etc. and perhaps someone can help.
    There is not better place for the working men than the union! 100% UA the only HVAC union!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    75,906
    Post Likes
    I've seen pig tails clog that allow pressure to build to the pressuretrol, but not allow the pressure back out.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    550
    Post Likes
    Steam Boiler???

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    685
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Combination operating control and high limit with manual reset.
    270KW 8 stage electric low psi steam. System requires about 2.5psi steam to hydronic converter.
    Staging (firing) controlled by integral (within control) 4-10 mV output to staging microprocessor by other.
    p7810C1000.
    Syphon is good
    Google for image.
    This is a series"3". Original was series "1".
    "Iron sharpeneth iron..."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    685
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Pressed and held reset, no blink codes stored.
    "Iron sharpeneth iron..."

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Windsor, Ont.
    Posts
    740
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by atmosphere View Post
    Pressed and held reset, no blink codes stored.
    And what were the LED's doing otherwise?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    685
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Slow and fast blinks of amber LED only,
    According to blink code chart it shows internal issue with controller.
    120VAC at "in" and 0 at "out".
    After holding reset and releasing, the mA starts at 4.01 for about 2 seconds then to the maximum fixed stop limit (stored) that I originally set at 18.48 mA ( which equaled the Limit knob setting of 14 psi) for 2 seconds, then mV goes to "over range" . Range set at 20mA on meter.

    Holding the reset in never brings the green light on.
    "Iron sharpeneth iron..."

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    3,026
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by atmosphere View Post
    Honeywell pressuretrol
    Replaced a series 1(worked for16 years) with series3. Noted connection changes and wired in.
    Controller worked 8 hrs., locked out on high limit. Will not reset.
    Maximum stored fixed limit is correct (14 psi @ 19.22 ma.)
    Zero psi on this 15psi boiler. Any advice appreciated.
    Is not uncommon to find defective Honeywell controls straight out the box, whats weird in your situation it worked for 8 hours just the time it takes for the internal setting to become permanent. You didn't use L1 from the old series 1 right?
    There is not better place for the working men than the union! 100% UA the only HVAC union!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.