Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 27
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Westerville, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    24

    Janitrol gas valve voltage

    Issue with Janitrol furnace --

    Goes through normal sequence on call for heat - inducer on, pressure switch closes, HSI glows, then gas valve doesnt open. Interesting that the valve has 15-16V consistently until board calls for main valve to open, then 26V at the valve for a few seconds. The 15-16v is to chassis ground and ground on the valve terminal.

    I thought there would be no voltage on the valve until a call from the board, thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,701
    safety or bad valve or loose connection or bad board or?
    The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing the greatest amount of free meals and stamps EVER.
    Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us to "Please Do Not Feed the Animals". Their stated reason for this policy "... the animals become dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."
    from an excerpt by Paul Jacob in Sun City, AZ

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Central, FL
    Posts
    29
    What is your inlet gas pressure? LP or Natural? If you have good inlet gas pressure and no outlet pressure when there is 24 volts across the gas valve coil then the gas valve is bad.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Caledonia WI
    Posts
    881
    I think it's a bad valve.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Double Check with the manometer the out let pressure. If you have 24v and no outlet pressure then well you get it. First verify you have inlet pressure though

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6,255
    [QUOTE=ParamountAir;14929331]Issue with Janitrol furnace --

    Interesting that the valve has 15-16V consistently until board calls for main valve to open, then 26V at the valve for a few seconds.


    Something seems fishy here. Sounds like some kind of back feed. Are you sure your transformer is not weak ? I would think that the ignition board would not leak voltage till a call for the main valve. How many wires go to the valve ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    [QUOTE=VTP99;14930031]
    Quote Originally Posted by ParamountAir View Post
    Issue with Janitrol furnace --

    Interesting that the valve has 15-16V consistently until board calls for main valve to open, then 26V at the valve for a few seconds.


    Something seems fishy here. Sounds like some kind of back feed. Are you sure your transformer is not weak ? I would think that the ignition board would not leak voltage till a call for the main valve. How many wires go to the valve ?
    I bet it's a false reading, one other thing is look for the cracks on top of hx

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Caledonia WI
    Posts
    881
    The coil in the gas valve is open, once you change it the 15-16 volts will go away and it will function when it gets 24 volts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Westerville, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    24
    Yes, definitely something fishy. I must have measured it started the unit 10 times and measured voltage to make sure my readings were correct. There are 3 terminals on the valve, MV, PV (factory jumped) and C. Where could the 15 volts be coming from?

    Thanks!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,401
    Quote Originally Posted by ParamountAir View Post
    There are 3 terminals on the valve, MV, PV (factory jumped) and C. Where could the 15 volts be coming from?

    Thanks!
    the 15 volts is phantom voltage. When you have a wire connected to nothing (open relay on one end, broken gas valve on other) Voltage will be induced in it just by its proximity to other wires with current flowing in them.

    If you put any kind of load on the wire its voltage will drop to 0

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    SW MO.
    Posts
    5,206
    It's not uncommon to see the 24v split across the secondary of the transformer. 12v on one side to ground. 14v on other leg to ground. Together 26v when load is applied.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Caledonia WI
    Posts
    881
    On Goodman common side of 24 volt transformer winding is grounded to chassis.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    SW MO.
    Posts
    5,206
    I thought that after I posted. But it does happen, especially on 240v units.
    I have come across 2 different units that was 120v to ground on secondary side with no load. 24v with load. Still have never figured that out.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event