Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 58

Thread: Amp meter

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    205
    Post Likes

    Amp meter

    What are some good meters that will lock in peak amps?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    30
    Post Likes
    Fluke

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    95
    Post Likes
    I use the Fluke 902. A little pricey, but it's fallen out of my tool bag when climbing up onto the roof a commercial building onto a concrete parking lot and still works like a champ. Very easy to use as well. Most of my co-workers make fun of me for using it though because they all use the Fieldpiece meter that has the different heads you can attach.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,695
    Post Likes
    any meter with a min/max button should suffice, all of my fieldpiece clamps have the ability
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    205
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Strkout

    I saw where it has the hold but does it hold max hold like when checking peak LRA?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    1,031
    Post Likes
    Has anyone had any experience with

    Amprobe ACDC-54NAV ?

    I'm trying to find a clamp metere that does microamps. Does Fluke make one that i just haven't seen?? Is Amprobe better than fieldpiece?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,695
    Post Likes
    amprobe was bought by fluke several years ago ( about the time of the acd-14 turd)
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    18
    Post Likes
    Fluke 376 a few more dollars than the 902 but also does miliamps hz and a few more things I don't recall right now only downfall it does no do temps but I've got 10 other ways to take temps I hardy ever used this feature on my 902

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    476
    Post Likes
    I got a fluke 902, 87, and a t5-1000. I recently got a fieldpiece sc56, and absolutely love it. The only complaints I have is the leads are shorter than My flukes leads, and I don't like their alligator clips as Well.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Westerville, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    24
    Post Likes
    I have always been happy with my fieldpiece LT17A - microamps, temp, min/max hold, magnet holder, amp clamp - just not RMS. Good price too, amazon has them for $125.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    95
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by steve wright View Post
    Strkout

    I saw where it has the hold but does it hold max hold like when checking peak LRA?
    Yeah it does

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    205
    Post Likes
    Thread Starter
    Thanks to all you for your input it is very helpful.

    I'm going to try the Fluke 376 or 902, I currently have a Fluke 30 so I'm comfortable with it.

    Thank so much

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    1,031
    Post Likes
    i have the 376 but it doesn't have Microamps which disappoints me...

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.