Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 58

Thread: Amp meter

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    168
    Post Likes

    Amp meter

    What are some good meters that will lock in peak amps?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    29
    Post Likes
    Fluke

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    95
    Post Likes
    I use the Fluke 902. A little pricey, but it's fallen out of my tool bag when climbing up onto the roof a commercial building onto a concrete parking lot and still works like a champ. Very easy to use as well. Most of my co-workers make fun of me for using it though because they all use the Fieldpiece meter that has the different heads you can attach.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,641
    Post Likes
    any meter with a min/max button should suffice, all of my fieldpiece clamps have the ability
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    168
    Post Likes
    Strkout

    I saw where it has the hold but does it hold max hold like when checking peak LRA?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    95
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by steve wright View Post
    Strkout

    I saw where it has the hold but does it hold max hold like when checking peak LRA?
    Yeah it does

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    969
    Post Likes
    Has anyone had any experience with

    Amprobe ACDC-54NAV ?

    I'm trying to find a clamp metere that does microamps. Does Fluke make one that i just haven't seen?? Is Amprobe better than fieldpiece?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,641
    Post Likes
    amprobe was bought by fluke several years ago ( about the time of the acd-14 turd)
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Andalucia
    Posts
    3,893
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Nytefog View Post
    Has anyone had any experience with

    Amprobe ACDC-54NAV ?

    I'm trying to find a clamp metere that does microamps. Does Fluke make one that i just haven't seen?? Is Amprobe better than fieldpiece?
    I have the 51 NAV and am happy with it. It might suit your needs better since it does microamps while the 54 doesn't.

    http://www.amprobe.com/Amprobe/usen/....htm?PID=73092
    "War is cruelty,and you cannot refine it." Sherman to the leadership of Atlanta prior to burning the city.

    1/3 of southern families owned slaves. I'm not the slaveowner, my daddy is.

    Debunking the 1% slaveownership in 1860.
    http://www.civilwarcauses.org/stat.htm
    http://www.civil-war.net/pages/1860_census.html

    Ironic: happening in the opposite way to what is expected, and typically causing wry amusement because of this.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Central NJ Area
    Posts
    969
    Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by pageyjim View Post
    I have the 51 NAV and am happy with it. It might suit your needs better since it does microamps while the 54 doesn't.

    http://www.amprobe.com/Amprobe/usen/....htm?PID=73092
    I just ordered this meter. We'll see how it is. I've never owned a amprobe product yet.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ohio
    Posts
    18
    Post Likes
    Fluke 376 a few more dollars than the 902 but also does miliamps hz and a few more things I don't recall right now only downfall it does no do temps but I've got 10 other ways to take temps I hardy ever used this feature on my 902

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    milford ct
    Posts
    171
    Post Likes
    I use a fluke 27 love the meter . and i still have the smaller amp probe that is no longer sold .the newer ones are all big
    If a Ram is a Sheep, And an Ass is a Donkey, Why is a Ram in the Ass a Goose?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    339
    Post Likes
    I got a fluke 902, 87, and a t5-1000. I recently got a fieldpiece sc56, and absolutely love it. The only complaints I have is the leads are shorter than My flukes leads, and I don't like their alligator clips as Well.

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Quality Home Comfort Awards