Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 37

Thread: flame sensor?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI.
    Posts
    8

    flame sensor?

    First off I am fresh out of school so pretty green but would like a few opinions on a furnace I'm trying to get going for a friend.
    Lennox 90% Furnace starts up normally but flames get sloppy within a few seconds then go out and starts over. the code says flame sensor but the flame on burner the sensor is on gets sloppy very fast and not sure sensor has time to heat up. I have cleaned it with brillo, same outcome and sensor looks really good. combustion air switch checks out good.

    orderd new flame sensor so figured I would run by y'all while I wait.

    Thank you for your time, Scott

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    N.E. Ok.
    Posts
    1,376
    Clean the burners and crossovers and check gas pressure.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    1,018
    Does the flame get sloppy when the fan comes on?
    "The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten". --Benjamin Franklin
    "Don't argue with an idiot, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience". --Mark Twain
    http://www.campbellmechanical.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI.
    Posts
    8
    Flame gets sloppy almost immediately

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Altmar, New York, United States
    Posts
    5,154
    have you checked the air intake? you should not use a brillo to clean a flame sensor. use a bill. if the flames are getting sloppy i wouldn't think the flame sensor is at fault. what was the gas pressure?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    The flame sensor is the safety not the problem, what model?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI.
    Posts
    8
    that is what I thought, G26Q3-75-6

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    1,018
    My guess is that you're not getting a good draw through the heat-exchanger. Either your inducer draft motor is not working right or you have a restriction in the combustion air path. Check your intake, exhaust and heat-exchanger. Could also be a breach in the heat-exchanger not allowing the inducer fan to create the necessary draw.
    "The bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of low price is forgotten". --Benjamin Franklin
    "Don't argue with an idiot, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience". --Mark Twain
    http://www.campbellmechanical.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Royal Oak, MI.
    Posts
    8
    Thanks alot! As I said I'm a little new but I shouldn't have second guessed myself. This is the track i was taking but supply house said flame sensor.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,852
    Quote Originally Posted by addiscott View Post
    Thanks alot! As I said I'm a little new but I shouldn't have second guessed myself. This is the track i was taking but supply house said flame sensor.

    The supply house is, just that, a supply house. When I go to supply houses I always hear the guys behind the counter trying to help diagnose stuff over the phone. Their job is to take numbers you give them and turn them into parts, not diagnose your service call. Don't believe me? Call Grainger sometime and ask for technical help It's like talking to a barrel of monkeys. Do you have a senior tech to ask questions to?
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    Quote Originally Posted by 2sac View Post
    The supply house is, just that, a supply house. When I go to supply houses I always hear the guys behind the counter trying to help diagnose stuff over the phone. Their job is to take numbers you give them and turn them into parts, not diagnose your service call. Don't believe me? Call Grainger sometime and ask for technical help It's like talking to a barrel of monkeys. Do you have a senior tech to ask questions to?

    very well said..... go to the suppliers with earplugs...... they no almost zero on the service end....all the good ones are long dead......
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Chicagoland Area
    Posts
    4,852
    Quote Originally Posted by carmon View Post
    very well said..... go to the suppliers with earplugs...... they no almost zero on the service end....all the good ones are long dead......
    We've got a coupleof real good motor guys at some local motor supply houses but that's about it.
    Officially, Down for the count

    YOU HAVE TO GET OFF YOUR ASS TO GET ON YOUR FEET

    I know enough to know, I don't know enough
    Liberalism-Ideas so good they mandate them

  13. #13
    If you are working on a G26 and the pilot is fluttering before main ignition, make sure you have the rubber gasket on the bottom of the fire box that the pilot tubing goes thru is installed correctly. I have seen air gaps in thst gasket cause pilots to flutter enough on ignition to cause flame rectification problems.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event