Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,224

    Uniflair DX Modbus Registers

    Has anyone setup a Uniflair DX unit for Modbus RTU?
    I got their register list - http://www.apcmedia.com/salestools/J...PGPQ_R0_EN.pdf but it doesn't make sense to me. They are re-using addresses and not specifying the type of registers these are.
    I see here shows an updated list on 15-May-2012, but clicking on the link doesn't work. If I copy the link and paste it in a browser and edit out the excess junk I can get it to work but it takes me to the same link above and its date is 4-1-12.
    It looks like they are using a Carel controller like a Stulz, maybe I'll see if I can correlate something from Stulz documentation...

    If anyone can pass out any pointers it would be appreciated.
    TIA
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,768
    I'm assuming you tried just pulling down 1 for digital and 1 for analog using the correct functions and got an error?

    If I had to guess their register numbers are just offsets and they expect you to add the multiplier to get it within the typical range.

    So digital register 1 is likely 00001 or 10001 depending if they consider it a coil or discrete input register.
    Likewise the analog register 1 is likely 30001 or 40001 for inputs or holding registers.

    >specifying the type of registers these are.

    They all appear to be signal registers so they will all be integer types, not floating.

    Its Modbus, you need to read between the lines and when all else fails, trial and error.
    Propagating the formula. http://www.noagendashow.com/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,224
    Tried all that. The digital values seemed valid and stayed online, but only reported 0. the analog/integer wouldn't stay online. Tried multiple signal types, but no go. I tried holding registers 4000+#, and pretty sure I tried coils 3000, buy have to check. I may try cutting a few out that are only 1 off to see if that's some kind of a conflict.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    79
    Depending on an internal variable (Modbus Extension) of the program, the offset for the Integers is either 129 or 209, so Integer address 1 = Modbus register 40130 or 40210.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,224
    Thanks, I can give that a try but any idea why the 129/209?
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    79
    Its all on how Carel handles integers vs analog variables internal to the controller and how it should be interpreted via BMS protocols.

    Its a feature that's useful for OEMs, and is only useful for integrators if documented properly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,224
    Thanks, I see they actually documented what you're saying in the above link - Integer's are adding 209 to the Carel address.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    79
    Ironically, I did as well after I replied...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,224
    Well no go on this, got a scanner and nothing matched up. At first I though I was able to match up the # of starts, which isn't even in the list, but when I went back later to recheck they no longer matched.

    Beginning to think the card installed may be for another type of unit, not sure if it's possible but since it is a plug in add...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    79
    Are you plugged into the right port? I assume you are plugged into an add-on card located in the "Serial Card" opening.
    What is the model of the card located in this port? I think it should be PCOS004850. This is the optional modbus slave card.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,224
    Definitely plugged in to serial port, same location as our Stulz units, only those have lon cards. I don't know the part number off hand on the modbus card.
    Stulz units also have Carel controllers in them.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    WI
    Posts
    79
    Ok, so you have experience with these.

    I was looking through some of the IOMs on Uniflair's website and I couldn't find where the controller gets configured for Modbus/Lon/BACnet option cards. Usually, there is some type of menu driven selection for comm type. If configured wrong, it could be sending erroneous data. Do you have the manual handy?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pacific Time Zone
    Posts
    4,224
    Turns out the modbus card was bad, but now that I have a new one it isn't working either.

    Uniflair is owned by APC/Schneider now so they have better documentation on their site - http://www.apc.com/products/resource...=documentation

    This sucks as the Modbus register list is pretty good ~245 points, w/superheat, refrigerant pressures and such.

    Did some units with LON cards and while I was able to get all those talking just fine that point list sucks compared to the modbus, only 59 points and then you have to do weird conversions if you choose Deg F and such. Hopefully I can get the Modbus card to work, but at least I know the LON card option works. May end up going to that on this problem unit....
    "How it can be considered "Open" is beyond me. Calling it "voyeur-ed" would be more accurate." pka LeroyMac, SkyIsBlue, fka Freddy-B, Mongo, IndyBlue
    BIG Government = More Dependents
    "Any 'standard' would be great if it didn't get bastardised by corporate self interest." MatrixTransform
    http://threedevilskennel.com/ - not my website.
    Versatile Hunting Dog Federation - www.vhdf.org/


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event