+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: How to make sense of the choices? Thread split off.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Likes

How to make sense of the choices? Thread split off.

Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    40-60K should be good for 2500sqft, have a load calculation done.
    What are you basing your calculations on? Are you not a TV repairman by trade?
    Training is important!
    Practical Training is a must!

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    What are you basing your calculations on? Are you not a TV repairman by trade?
    Using the 35f temperature the OP stated in the original post and square footage. Of course a load calculation would yield more accurate results. I've seen way too many oversized furnaces, many of them cycling on high limit switch due to low airflow/poor ductwork/oversizing.

Got out of the TV business back when the prices of new TV's dropped to a point where there was no money to be made repairing them. Glad switched to HVAC, TV prices have just continued to plummet ever since I got out of the business. Saw an LG 60" flat screen for $800 recently, 42" TV's under $400.

Post Likes
    Yes, 123,000 Btu is the same as 123k. It is not the input that matters, but rather the output. If your furnace is an 80% efficient furnace, it's output heating your house is 98,400 Btu, but if your furnace is 95% efficient, you have 116,850 Btu of heat being pumped into your house.

If you are located in a fairly northern part of the world, your furnace may be fine for your application.
    On the data plate it says "Bonnet Capacity=98000". So, based on what you said above, it would seem that this furnace is an 80% unit, with 98,000 BTU going into the house?

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by John01 View Post