Page 10 of 14 FirstFirst ... 34567891011121314 LastLast
Results 118 to 130 of 171
  1. #118
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,765
    PS: The CPU line to R, is so the CPU knows the limit, roll out, etc is open.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  2. #119
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,923
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    PS: The CPU line to R, is so the CPU knows the limit, roll out, etc is open.
    So, if this particular furnace shuts down on limit, power is shut off to the thermostat? I'm sure glad I don't have to put up with that furnace.

    And, what keeps the blower and IDB running after the limit opens?
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  3. #120
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,850
    Any Pro here that knows anything about controls, could wire in one of these n/o relays and you would never loose power to the stat, I could have it wired in probably in less than 10 minutes. Or better yet, just wire your "red" to the secondary side of the fuse, if the limit/limits open it still kills power to the CPU.

    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  4. #121
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,765
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    So, if this particular furnace shuts down on limit, power is shut off to the thermostat? I'm sure glad I don't have to put up with that furnace.

    And, what keeps the blower and IDB running after the limit opens?
    The CPU is still powered. It controls the relays and keeps the blower running.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #122
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,158
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    Any Pro here that knows anything about controls, could wire in one of these n/o relays and you would never loose power to the stat, I could have it wired in probably in less than 10 minutes. Or better yet, just wire your "red" to the secondary side of the fuse, if the limit/limits open it still kills power to the CPU.

    I think get using the relay to keep the thermostat power while still allowing the limit to do it's job, tell me if my crude diagram is correct. I don't quite understand the 2nd part of your quote that is in bold.
    Last edited by beenthere; 01-07-2013 at 05:46 PM. Reason: Removed wiring diagram

  6. #123
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,765
    Shouldn't post wiring diagrams in the open forums. DIYers could attempt to use them.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #124
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,158
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Shouldn't post wiring diagrams in the open forums. DIYers could attempt to use them.
    Sorry about that, I don't have access to the closed forums...
    How much allowed about wiring diagrams in the open forums?

  8. #125
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,765
    About zero.

    If someone posts a diagram that is in an install manual that should be left with the customer, thats ok. Posting it after making drawings on it for wiring is not.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #126
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Can't you go pro 54?

  10. #127
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,158
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    Can't you go pro 54?
    I was pro, but my account was "revised". In our current project we don't repair or install furnaces or AC units, we just install thermostats and run service calls when they don't operate properly. Started with the project because $14/hr was more than most shops pay starting out. It's relatively easy work for the money. Just got $1 raise, I'm up to $15/hr now. Full health insurance, 10 PTO days per year, and matching 401k included.

  11. #128
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    4,158
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    About zero.

    If someone posts a diagram that is in an install manual that should be left with the customer, thats ok. Posting it after making drawings on it for wiring is not.
    Gotcha, no modified wiring diagrams in open forms...

  12. #129
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,588
    Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    I was pro, but my account was "revised". In our current project we don't repair or install furnaces or AC units, we just install thermostats and run service calls when they don't operate properly. Started with the project because $14/hr was more than most shops pay starting out. It's relatively easy work for the money. Just got $1 raise, I'm up to $15/hr now. Full health insurance, 10 PTO days per year, and matching 401k included.
    Looks like the mans trying to keep you down lol

  13. #130
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,923
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    The CPU is still powered. It controls the relays and keeps the blower running.
    So why would it not also keep the t-stat powered through the R terminal, indicated by the wiring to the R terminal from the CPU?

    Do you know for a fact that this model furnace kills the power to the thermostat when the limit switch is open? I'd like to see the circuitry on the back of that board for myself.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


Page 10 of 14 FirstFirst ... 34567891011121314 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event