Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314 LastLast
Results 79 to 91 of 171
  1. #79
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,824
    Quote Originally Posted by jpsmith1cm View Post
    I broke out the thread so they can keep going on and the OP doesn't get a bunch of needless notifications.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  2. #80
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    3,960
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    The power is not cut to the thermostat when a high limit switch opens. I've never seen a furnace that cuts the power to the thermostat when a high limit circuit has opened. Follow the power from the transformer in order to understand what that circuit is doing.
    Please help me understand on the path to the 24V power to the thermostat. I've highlighted what I'm seeing on the power path, what am I missing? If LS1 were to open, how does it tell the CPU to go into "high limit" mode? The 24V powered thermostats definitely go blank and 24V to the thermostat back plate is gone when the burners go off on high limit and the "33 code" shows up. The blower continues to run while the 33 code is being displayed. Once the furnace cools back off the power is restored to the thermostat. I'd like to get to the bottom of this since I see a lot of them.
    Name:  power path.jpg
Views: 286
Size:  63.6 KB

  3. #81
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    3,960
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    This is all indicative of an improperly sized duct system, air blockage such as dirty filter or coil, loss of blower capacity etc. None of this has anything to do with the furnace being oversized.
    Fair enough, the furnace isn't necessarily oversized for the house, just the duct system. That of course is if it doesn't have any of the other possible issues you mentioned.

  4. #82
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    I see a yellow line...... lol
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  5. #83
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    3,960
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Bill View Post
    You know it's one thing to want to learn the trade, and just humble yourself and sit back and watch and listen, but when your argument is not fact, and you don't just stop for a moment to research something before you post, you not going to appear to be the brightest bulb in the house. It's like me going on a TV repair forum and and telling all the pro's there how a TV works or is wired.
    Fair Enough

  6. #84
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winnipeg
    Posts
    1,330
    oh my.....
    it was working.... played with it.... now its broke.... whats the going hourly rate for HVAC repair

  7. #85
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,865
    Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    Please help me understand on the path to the 24V power to the thermostat. I've highlighted what I'm seeing on the power path, what am I missing? If LS1 were to open, how does it tell the CPU to go into "high limit" mode? The 24V powered thermostats definitely go blank and 24V to the thermostat back plate is gone when the burners go off on high limit and the "33 code" shows up. The blower continues to run while the 33 code is being displayed. Once the furnace cools back off the power is restored to the thermostat. I'd like to get to the bottom of this since I see a lot of them.
    Name:  power path.jpg
Views: 286
Size:  63.6 KB
    That would be DIY training which is not allowed.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  8. #86
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Moore, Oklahoma, United States
    Posts
    3,960
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    That would be DIY training which is not allowed.
    Do you really think I'm doing these thermostats as some sort of DIY project?

  9. #87
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,865
    Quote Originally Posted by 54regcab View Post
    Do you really think I'm doing these thermostats as some sort of DIY project?
    I never said anything about your installation of thermostats, just that you don't know what you are talking about when it comes to furnace operations. What is the model number of one of the furnaces that schematic you posted is from?
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  10. #88
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    1,015
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    The power is not cut to the thermostat when a high limit switch opens. I've never seen a furnace that cuts the power to the thermostat when a high limit circuit has opened. Follow the power from the transformer in order to understand what that circuit is doing.
    On a Lennox G8, which uses the honeywell/trade line fan&limit combo.
    The primary side of the transformer is wire to the "limit" side of the fan switch, which opens of temp rise, but keeps blower running.
    Therefore, when the limit setting is reached, the whole 24v control circuit is dead.... Gas valve and t-stat.
    Many old furnaces use this configuration.

  11. #89
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta
    Posts
    1,015
    Quote Originally Posted by RoBoTeq View Post
    I never said anything about your installation of thermostats, just that you don't know what you are talking about when it comes to furnace operations. What is the model number of one of the furnaces that schematic you posted is from?
    It's from a carrier.

  12. #90
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    140
    The York D1NA048N09006C gas pack breaks power to the R terminal when the limit, aux. limit, or rollout opens.

  13. #91
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    68,865
    Quote Originally Posted by syndicated View Post
    On a Lennox G8, which uses the honeywell/trade line fan&limit combo.
    The primary side of the transformer is wire to the "limit" side of the fan switch, which opens of temp rise, but keeps blower running.
    Therefore, when the limit setting is reached, the whole 24v control circuit is dead.... Gas valve and t-stat.
    Many old furnaces use this configuration.
    I know what old furnaces use, but there aren't that many furnaces out there that are that old any longer. We are discussing current systems and why oversizing new furnaces is a problem.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event