Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373

    Question about aux heat in basement system

    I have a quick question regarding our basement system.

    The thermostat for our basement system is wanting to run the auxiliary heat every time we run the temperature up 1 degree. Is this normal? Could it be the thermostat? We have been wondering since our electric bills have been higher than this time last year. Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    6,233
    Check the AUX HEAT range setting options in the thermostat manual.

    DON'T USE SET-BACKS ( or VERY rarely).
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,704
    Post brand and model number of thermostat. Were you operating the thermostat the same way last year at this time.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,886
    Most stats do, especially Honeywell. That's why it is best with a pump to leave the same temp constantly. Or let the stat change the temp, it will TRY to limit backup but often can't.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by dan sw fl View Post
    Check the AUX HEAT range setting options in the thermostat manual.

    DON'T USE SET-BACKS ( or VERY rarely).
    Thanks. Unfortunately, we lost the manual several years ago.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Post brand and model number of thermostat. Were you operating the thermostat the same way last year at this time.
    The thermostat is a Trane XT500C. We did operate it the same way last year at this time.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    Most stats do, especially Honeywell. That's why it is best with a pump to leave the same temp constantly. Or let the stat change the temp, it will TRY to limit backup but often can't.
    Thanks for the info. We don't know how to program the thermostat because the manual is missing.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    6,233
    Quote Originally Posted by 545GAlady View Post
    Thanks for the info. We don't know how to program the thermostat because the manual is missing.
    http://homeappliance.manualsonline.c...l?idRes=395950
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    373
    Thanks. I was looking for the manual yesterday and I actually found it in one of my bookshelves! I have a program on my other two thermostats and I will make a program very soon for this thermostat. Thanks for all the advice!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image