Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 39 of 39
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,225
    Quote Originally Posted by terpfan_ View Post
    A common fan cycle switch would work to control head pressure. Johnson sells a bunch of models compatiable with 410a. A hot gas bypass could also help problem with solenoid to close bypass in heating mode. A combination of both might help as well.
    Does anyone know of a good model for a fan cycle switch? I have a feeling that if I ask the counter guys at Johnstone for a fan cycle kit they are going to look like deer in the headlights.
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
    Posts
    1,152
    those cheap supco's are just that. I would use a refrigeration style "real" ranco style head pressure control. But in this case, the ecm motor is a concern.
    Increasing the heat load outside may take some creativity, sounds like your guy/customer is pretty smart. Anyway you could arrange for him to partially block the condenser during low ambient times? Just a thought.......

  3. #29
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,483
    Call York tech support. They 've always been very helpful to me. Used to be a guy there named Smed that was sharp as a tack. I'm sure he's since retired, and probably dead. Neat guy and was full of information.
    One way to outthink people is to make them think you think. They'll think you're not really thinking what you're trying to get them to think you think...........

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,225
    Quote Originally Posted by JWB View Post
    those cheap supco's are just that. I would use a refrigeration style "real" ranco style head pressure control. But in this case, the ecm motor is a concern.
    Increasing the heat load outside may take some creativity, sounds like your guy/customer is pretty smart. Anyway you could arrange for him to partially block the condenser during low ambient times? Just a thought.......
    What I need is a head pressure control that completely cuts voltage to the fan rather than try to modulate it. The customer has already started blocking the fan somewhat but I fear the motor will fail before long... Does anyone know of a kit that completely shuts the fan off?
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,225
    Quote Originally Posted by uniservice View Post
    Call York tech support. They 've always been very helpful to me. Used to be a guy there named Smed that was sharp as a tack. I'm sure he's since retired, and probably dead. Neat guy and was full of information.
    I'm glad you've had good luck with them. I however, have not. They have been pretty much worthless every time I have called. I always end up calling a distributor tech rep and they are pretty solid.
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    1,754
    There should be unused low voltage leads to the ECM. Try looking into the wiring configuration when a reheat coil is used.
    I have to go back and look, but I know there is a way to drop the speed with the inputs. Maybe two inputs are used and you cut one of them??
    Again, I will have to dig up the manual I am thinking of to be sure.
    "The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing" Socrates

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,018
    There is ususally two 24v control signal wires like a x13 but only two speeds.

  8. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6,095
    Get us the full model number for the unit and let rundawg post the wiring diagram. With that I am sure we can help with your problem.

  9. #35
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by BaldLoonie View Post
    An ECM is wired hot. Low voltage signal tells it to come on. I suppose you could put a fan cycle kit in the 240v always hot feed but the constant cycling could be hard on the motor or the module. I would have a chat with a York tech rep before risking it.
    I'd switch the 24v control signal to the motor, switching the 240v will fry switches, possibly even the module.
    Unplug one while it is running and you will see what I mean.

    If it has a Genteq/Regal-Beloit motor on it, a creative electronics person could use a PWM signal to control the fan speed.
    I'm not aware of any off the shelf control that us less creative people can buy though.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  10. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Seattle WA
    Posts
    1,225
    Quote Originally Posted by mark beiser View Post
    I'd switch the 24v control signal to the motor, switching the 240v will fry switches, possibly even the module.
    Unplug one while it is running and you will see what I mean.

    If it has a Genteq/Regal-Beloit motor on it, a creative electronics person could use a PWM signal to control the fan speed.
    I'm not aware of any off the shelf control that us less creative people can buy though.
    Well, unfortunately I'm not a creative electronics person. As a matter of fact, its not my strong suit at all. I'm beginning to think a board over the damn fan is going to be his only option
    America; first we fight for our freedom,
    then we make laws to take it away.

    -Alfred E Newman

  11. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,770
    Wonder how a T991A would work. its a proportional control, 0 to 135 ohms.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  12. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Wonder how a T991A would work. its a proportional control, 0 to 135 ohms.
    It would need to be a PWM signal.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  13. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    6,095
    How about that model number ?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event