Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1

    Honeywell thermostat says "Wait", taking a long time to heat

    I have a Honeywell TH8320U1008 thermostat and the word "Wait" has been displaying on the screen since yesterday. The heat is coming on and the house is heating, but the heat is constantly cycling on/off for a few minutes at a time each and it's, obviously, taking a long time for the house to heat.

    Any ideas what the issue could be?

    Jason

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,718
    Either you have a bad thermostat or you are losing power during the run cycle and the delay time is starting over again.

    Time to call for professional help.

    These thermostats have a delay from the time power is turned on until the unit comes on.
    The Food Stamp Program, administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is proud to be distributing the greatest amount of free meals and stamps EVER.
    Meanwhile, the National Park Service, administered by the U.S. Department of the Interior, asks us to "Please Do Not Feed the Animals". Their stated reason for this policy "... the animals become dependent on handouts and will not learn to take care of themselves."
    from an excerpt by Paul Jacob in Sun City, AZ

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Upstate SC
    Posts
    1,439
    Do you have batteries in it?

    Sent from my ERIS using Tapatalk 2

  4. #4
    Yes I have batteries in it, although they're probably quite old.

    I forgot to mention that sometimes while the heat is running, the "Wait" indicator goes away. Sometimes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,308
    Try changing the batteries.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    in a house, Appomattox, Va.
    Posts
    3,318
    if its a high efficiency furnace, something may be stopped up in the drains. service call
    Col 3:23


    questions asked, answers received, ignorance abated

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    4,716
    a short in the low voltage circuit can cause it
    We really need change now

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,754
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Try changing the batteries.

    and your air filter

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Columbus OH
    Posts
    32
    This is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Last edited by beenthere; 12-22-2012 at 11:46 PM. Reason: Non Pro * Member

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,308
    techwizard007, this is the Ask Our Pro's forum, and only Pro members that have been vetted by the AOPC may post advise, commentary or ask questions of the OP here. Please apply to the AOPC today, thank you.

    You can find the rules for posting and qualifications here.

    Your post has been deleted.
    Further infractions may result in loss of posting privileges.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event