351 York Vyper Drive Issue
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    37

    351 York Vyper Drive Issue

    Having issue with high DC buss voltage trip issues on start up. Also found have voltage on DC buss when the drive is not even commanded on. Buss does bleed down when power drive down. SCR checked out ok with meter. Removed J1-3 pluges off the the trigger board and still gets voltage to DC buss as soon as power drive back up. Anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,218
    a couple of questions...

    you talk of several issues but only describe 1 check that is with your meter. have you measured the DC buss voltage with a meter? was the display accurate? what voltage drive do you have? what is the drive model number? what is the serial number? you are missing some information here. it may not seem important to you but it may be to us.
    You either love bacon or you are wrong.

    4 gallons of gas, 2 miles of travel, teaching my daughters how to drive in the high school parking lot...priceless!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,110
    Not to mention that we should probably refrain from attempting to troubleshoot a VSD on an open forum.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    37
    York Vyper
    VSD351-K-46
    JQM-047

    Yes, checked DC Buss with meter and voltage was prety accurate to what Opti-view was displaying. Newer development to add to scenerio is motor is meging zero meg-ohms to ground one one coil. Doesn't explain why we are getting voltage on DC buss when drive is not commanded on though. Will be having motor rewound and having heater installed through local motor shop and go from there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    37
    Sorry for throwing my stuff out here on the site like that. I am kind of new here and don't quite know al the rules.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,110
    There is always DC voltage on the bus. When you get everything back together hook up your meter from ground to any of the three "T" legs (with the power off) and energize the disconnect. Make sure your meter and all leads are in a safe place. You will find that you have somewhere around 350 VDC. With the Vyper drive there is always DC voltage on the motor terminals when the machine isn't running.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by KnewYork View Post
    There is always DC voltage on the bus. When you get everything back together hook up your meter from ground to any of the three "T" legs (with the power off) and energize the disconnect. Make sure your meter and all leads are in a safe place. You will find that you have somewhere around 350 VDC. With the Vyper drive there is always DC voltage on the motor terminals when the machine isn't running.
    Cool, thanks for the input, I'll check it out and let you guys know How it all turns out

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,218
    the only way to get a high buss value (assuming that everything is accurately measured) is to have high AC power, so check for that. on a 460 VAC nominal drive, high AC power is going to be around 509 VAC. you say that the buss goes high at start up...install a recording meter to the DC bus and start the chiller...a high buss voltage is about 745 VDC.
    You either love bacon or you are wrong.

    4 gallons of gas, 2 miles of travel, teaching my daughters how to drive in the high school parking lot...priceless!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Somewhere in the world.
    Posts
    1,589
    “HARMONIC FILTER – HIGH DC BUS
    VOLTAGE”
    The Harmonic filter’s DC Link voltage is continuously
    monitored and if the level exceeds 860VDC, this shutdown
    is performed. The Harmonic Filter has its own
    DC bus as part of the Filter power assembly, and this
    DC Link is not connected in any way with the VSD’s
    DC link. If this shutdown occurs, it will be necessary
    to look at the level of 460VAC applied to the Harmonic
    Filter. The specified voltage range is 414 to 508. If the
    incoming voltage is in excess of 508, steps should be
    taken to reduce the level to within specified limits. The
    cause of this message is typically high line voltage or a
    surge on the utility supply.

    Just thought I would throw this out there.
    Arguing with your Boss is like wrestling with a pig in
    mud.
    After a while you realize that while you are getting
    dirty, the pig is actually enjoying it.

    It is not exactly cheating, I prefer to consider it
    creative problem solving.

    25 years ago we had Bob Hope , Steve Jobs , and Johnny Cash today we have no Hope no Jobs and no Cash !
    I can fix broke but i can't fix stupid !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event