Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Confused

I read a number of the posts here and noticed how the DIY discussions tend to get ugly. I read and respect your forum rules unlike some who have posted questions here, but many in the industry seem to think it’s all about being cheap. So I figured I would share why I got into DIY, and the reasons I tend to agree that it is NOT a good idea. Also, I would like to share some suggestions from the consumer standpoint about how the HVAC industry could do a better job of selling to people like me.

Let me state up front that I know many of you are true professionals so this does not apply to all. Unfortunately, my experience has been that the professional is not the one who comes out (at least on the first trip to my house). I am an electrical engineer so that part of HVAC is easy for me. The first time I looked at my AC was 20 years ago when my new Trane failed. The first tech repaired it so I did not worry about it until it failed again several days later, and it was hot inside. So while waiting I did some electrical troubleshooting to find that one of the capacitors was bad, and the tech had installed a hard start cap. The second tech wanted to install a bigger hard start capacitor even though I told them one of the other caps was defective (open circuit). Since then I decided I would check the electrical status before calling in for a tech.