Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 38
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Omaha NE
    Posts
    62
    mrmonsterpants

    you've got mail. Let me know if you need any help.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    54
    Controltec,
    I have took over a builing that was previously a school and they have a gcm and several lcms with absolutely no documentation, im currently having no response from the lcm that runs the boilers and chillers the other lcms seem to be working okay for the 40 fan coils, the LCM that is down also has building average temps, outside air temps, controls my 3- way valves, I have no software to tap into the system no documentation please help, Thanks in advance

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Omaha NE
    Posts
    62
    Gatertech

    I will email you a link to download the manuals that I have. You don't need any special software for the LCM's they are just a RS-232 interface with hyperterminal. If the LCM isn't working you are screwed. Even the ones that are there need to be ripped out. You cannot get any replacement parts as these have been discontinued along time ago. There also is not any integration path into the LCM. Any of the other network 8000 line of controllers can be integrated into AX via an ASD driver.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,806
    Replacement parts as well as component rebuilds are available for the LCM's even though they were discontinued at the end of 2011.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    54
    okay sorry for the ignorance, I can tear down a 950 ton centrifical chiller, but I do not know what a Hyperterminal is on a barber Colman control system, lol, also I need to clarify after looking at some of the documents you sent me that I do not have a traditional LCM with screens I have the GCM with several microzone 2, hyperterminal operation the same?

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Omaha NE
    Posts
    62
    the GCM is the Global Control Module. this is the master brain behind a network 8k system. This you can access with hyperterminal or XPSI software. The XPSI is in the download that I sent you. Hyperterminal is just a serial shell communication program that comes with your computer if its xp or older. I'm sure you can download a hyperterminal program off the internet if you have windows 7 or newer. As for connecting to the microzone controllers you have two options. You can connect through the GCM controller or you can connect directly to the microzone controller itself. For a connection through the GCM you will need a 9 to 25 pin serial connection into the GCM and a 9 pin serial port on your computer. For a connection to the microzone directly you will need an RS-485 serial converter. We use converters from B&B Electronics. Use a 232USB9M-LS for a 9 pin serial and a USOPTL4-LS for a direct RS-485 connection to a microzone. You have to remember this is some really old stuff. Your talking about late 80's and early 90's technology. These systems were originally programmed with an atari. Let me know if you need anymore help.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,806
    THe NETWORK 8000 was developed in 1985 / 86 to replace the NETWORK SUPERVISOR and was not originally programmed with an ATARI.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Omaha NE
    Posts
    62
    I really don't know why you would waste your time or anyone else's time to respond to a forum and not contribute anything of value. For your information I copied this right out of the user manual, but it really doesn't make any difference because it doesn't help anyone solve their problems that they are posting to get fixed.

    Necessary equipment
    The TAC PSI software requires the use of an MS-DOS/PC-DOS based computer. We recommend using an Atari Portfolio hand held computer, or any 100% IBM compatible machine.
    Atari Portfolio
    On an Atari Portfolio the TAC PSI can be set up as a portable programmer's or operator's terminal to the TAC MICROFLO II, TAC MICROZONE II and other ASD controllers.
    The following picture shows the required hardware necessary to run the TAC PSI program on the Atari Portfolio. This configuration requires the hardware shown and the LAPT-80800-PSI TAC Personal System Interface (TAC PSI) software package loaded onto an Atari Memory Card.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Omaha NE
    Posts
    62
    Name:  Untitled-2.jpg
Views: 226
Size:  57.2 KB

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    7
    Does someone have the manual to show the hyperterminal settings to connect. Also maybe how to get the points list out of a Mircozone II with hyperterminal. Any help would be great.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,806
    CONTROLTEC if your going to quote the history , do not get in a tither if someone corrects it.

    The ATARI PORTFOLLIO was not used until the MICROZONE II was introduced ( replaced the GCS and MZI ) along with the new generation of sensors that allowed connection through them as well. Your manuals are the newer versions, which is very nice that you share with the members in need of them.

    So the NETWORK 8000 was not ORIGINALLY programmed with it. The originally programming was done wirh the QNX partioned software HOST 8000 or LAPT80800 which was on 5 1/2 floppys, try feeding 1 into the ATARI.

    And I have helped out PLENTY of members on the NETWORK 8000 over the years , not EVERYTHING gets posted on here.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Omaha NE
    Posts
    62
    tsmsp99

    If you email me from my email in my profile I will send you a link to download all the stuff that I have.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Omaha NE
    Posts
    62
    Control Man

    You have solidified my point. You have yet again wasted everyone's time including your own to post something that completely meaningless. I must have missed something big in the Network 8000 historian class that PSI and microzones weren't part of the Network 8000 system.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event