Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    7

    Confused

    My company had a call on this unit, Carrier Mod.48gs-042090301 ser. 4998g10252.
    First call: Dia. code was cumbustion failure. Second call: Dia. code was roll out failure.
    Third call: Carbon Monxide det. was going off in res.
    Replaced heat xchanger. When you cycle unit inducer starts,spark igniter sparks, gas valve opens,we have ignition. Flame only lasts for five to ten seconds, goes out retries, relites and goes out in 5 to 10 seconds. It will do this 3 or 4 times and some times it will light and run normal but not until it has warmed up. If you shut it down and let it cycle then restart it while it is still warm it will lite and run normal. Sometimes it will spark when the burners have been going.
    Things i changed per Carrier Tech. support.
    Flame Sensor, All burners, Burner bracket, Gas valve, all ground wires, control board, Hall switch and heat exchanger. Somebody throw me a bone.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    201
    What's the venting like?
    Could be a pressure switch opening? Can you monitor the draft with the pressure switch jumped out?
    It's a package unit? So it's outside with no chimney? Or just a short one?

    [Edited by bodhisatva on 11-22-2006 at 11:47 PM]
    ...SHEEESH!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    7
    it is outside with no chimney. This unit has no presure switch.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    No DIY or step by step instruction allowed.

    That unit has a press switch, and that makes you claim to be a tech very suspect to me.

    Way too many pretenders.

    Have it checked out again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    IN THE CRAWL SPACE
    Posts
    1,536
    How is the main ground to the unit?What is the flame current?As far as the inducer goes I would make sure the motor is up to speed.Last year I seen the same type unit produce really high levels of carbon monoxide due to sooted up heatexchangers.My meter pegged out at 999 PPM. The one I worked on today had a 4 UF cap that was down to 1.4 UF.Sooted heatexchangers.High carbon monoxide levels.If the inducer is'nt pulling the flame through the heat exchanger correctly it will trip the roll out and take time to cool down.Did you replace the roll out?It is a auto reset and will weaken.Your best bet is looking there.Also check the cabinet insulation.Sometimes insulation will get sucked into blower when the panel is on and when the blower shuts off it goes back up.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    tn.
    Posts
    10
    the only stumper is why a tech would leave a system if
    it was not operating properly,patience luke
    do it right the first time,
    or pay the price later

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    IN THE CRAWL SPACE
    Posts
    1,536
    Originally posted by hvaclover
    No DIY or step by step instruction allowed.

    That unit has a press switch, and that makes you claim to be a tech very suspect to me.

    Way too many pretenders.

    Have it checked out again.
    I lost my place last night and gave advise to someone
    but I thought I was in the Pro forums.Opps.Anyways this unit does'nt have a presure switch it has a hall effects
    sensor on the back of the combustion motor.BDP uses them and I hate em.

    t-dog I should've sent you to register as pro and take your question there.You may very well be a tech or you might be a DIYer and are trying to fix something.The best and only way to get sound advise is in the pro forums.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks to all that had good info. and to hvaclover and geru if you dont have helpful info dont waste my time.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Originally posted by thoglow
    Originally posted by hvaclover
    No DIY or step by step instruction allowed.

    That unit has a press switch, and that makes you claim to be a tech very suspect to me.

    Way too many pretenders.

    Have it checked out again.
    .Opps.Anyways this unit does'nt have a presure switch it has a hall effects sensor on the back of the combustion motor.BDP uses them and I hate em.

    .
    Dropped the ball on that one.
    Yeah, I hate 'em too.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    7
    Thanks hvaclover for your reply, and i am a lic. tech. Tried to get on the pro forum.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NW burbs of Detroit
    Posts
    6,058
    Go get em kid.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event