Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589

    What makes a good application?

    I am filling out an application for an hvac tech. I don't have my 608 but I have years of experience installing and servicing. Would you put some pictures of installs and such? This is a pretty good company, I think I would take a pay cut but I think it might be worth it. What are employers looking for? Every job I got was through reference so this is some what new.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    257
    [ be worth it. What are employers looking for? Every job I got was through reference so this is some what new.[/QUOTE]




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    257
    Get your EPA .


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    I know I need it but haven't had a chance to take it, classes are so far away and last time they had them I wasn't aware, it's on my priority list for sure but we heat 9 months a year lol.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    West of DFW
    Posts
    257
    Set reachable goals and take that simple little test. Good luck. Go ahead and take the NATE while at it. Make yourself stick out with your own self reliance.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Metro Atlanta
    Posts
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    I know I need it but haven't had a chance to take it, classes are so far away and last time they had them I wasn't aware, it's on my priority list for sure but we heat 9 months a year lol.
    Find a C C dicksons , or R E Michel co in you area. The will issue the test to a single person.


    http://www.epatest.com/

    You also can take the time and get PM tech , 410 A , Green , IQA, and 609 if you want.
    The opinions expressed by me are not that of my employer.


    insulation modern marvels
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g37riSkyZzM

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    Quote Originally Posted by NY2GA01 View Post
    Find a C C dicksons , or R E Michel co in you area. The will issue the test to a single person.


    http://www.epatest.com/

    You also can take the time and get PM tech , 410 A , Green , IQA, and 609 if you want.
    I think I called one of these places this summer and never heard back, i needed a proctor and they were supposed to help out with it. I do have my 410a

    I get no results when I use my zip code lol

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    1,439
    Is there a community college near by? Most offer a 2 day class for the test.

    Also, as far as resumes go, limit it to one page with headings and bullets.

    Self description:

    References:

    Work history (relevent and recent):

    Education/certs:

    Goals:

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    We have a school 2 hr away that had an hvac program, I figure if I have to I will see if they will let me test, maybe now would be a good time to look into it again. I wish I would have it out of the way.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,603
    How or why would you have "years" of experience and never had an employer help you get the license?? If we hire an unlicensed person, it's with the clear goal to get them licensed right away (assuming they survive the probation period). Have you been working for an unlicensed contractor?

    No names please!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,720
    Quote Originally Posted by Joehvac25 View Post
    I am filling out an application for an hvac tech. I don't have my 608 but I have years of experience installing and servicing. Would you put some pictures of installs and such? This is a pretty good company, I think I would take a pay cut but I think it might be worth it. What are employers looking for? Every job I got was through reference so this is some what new.
    I figured with that big avatar you would at least have your 608. Come on man.
    My name is TooCoolforschool and I am a chronic over charger.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Upper Michigan
    Posts
    3,589
    I work for a licensed insured company, Mechanical electrical and plumbing, I personally don't need to have a license as far as I know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event