+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New Tech question, any cheap alternative to Silfos 15? Will Silfos 6 work for AC/Rifr

Post Likes

New Tech question, any cheap alternative to Silfos 15? Will Silfos 6 work for AC/Rifr

I know is a silly question but my wallet is terrified and keeps nagging me. I already invested in some Silfos 6 and wondering if 7 is better. Because im a experienced welder I took to brazing supriseingly well in class using 15%. Perhaps I can skill my way to using 6 or 7% with no problems and save $$. Any experienced this?

Post Likes
    Sil 15% is a wonderful product, but if your doing copper to copper you could use dyna-flow that has no silver in it and with proper brazing skills it should last the life of the equipment.

The purpose of silver is in my opinion three fold,
    1 The more silver the easier it is for me to braze and the joint looks nicer. Anything over 45% silver looks like jewlery.
    2. The greater the amount of silver the stronger the joint
    3. Silver helps with areas of vibration, such as discharge lines etc.

All this being said, proper brazing rules being applied, suction and liquid condensing connections could easily be soldiered with zero silver based brazing rod. In our town the local welding supply house gives samples to customers, they will even take you to the back room and let you try it. I would NOT recommend using a fluxed rod or that Black Max rubbish, I don't use any flux except when going from copper to steel and then I use 45% silver rod.

Information is available here; http://www.harrisproductsgroup.com/e...s/Brazing.aspx
    Last edited by Rich; 12-08-2012 at 07:53 PM. Reason: Addtional info

Post Likes