Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 30
  1. #14
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for the help all

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,042
    Quote Originally Posted by man00 View Post
    all is fine now..the strip was wired wrong from factory..
    Highly doubtfull, to be honest.

    I've put in hundreds of hkr heat kits, over a period of 8 years. I've never seen one wired wrong from the factory. Plus, the heat kit doesn't control fan operation.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

  3. #16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    16
    I don't know just going by what the install guy said..something about L1 and L 2 crossed

  4. #17
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    281
    I don't know just going by what the install guy said..something about L1 and L 2 crossed

    Huh??

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,663
    Quote Originally Posted by man00 View Post
    all is fine now..the strip was wired wrong from factory..
    What? That's a good one.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,001
    Quote Originally Posted by SBKold View Post
    20 KW? ??

    Hope your electric meter is bolted down so it doesn't spin off the wall!

    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,001
    Quote Originally Posted by hvacvegas View Post
    Highly doubtfull, to be honest.

    I've put in hundreds of hkr heat kits, over a period of 8 years. I've never seen one wired wrong from the factory. Plus, the heat kit doesn't control fan operation.
    +1 ........No one ever wants to take the blame now days, it's an epidemic, especially with our kids, well at least my kids.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  8. #21
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    south louisiana
    Posts
    3,188
    that 20 kw made me blink too...wow!
    your utility company loves you.
    talk to hvac company about staging heat strips.

    only one f in professional too cool for school.
    The cure of the part should not be attempted without the cure of the whole. ~Plato

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2,663
    Quote Originally Posted by energy_rater_La View Post
    that 20 kw made me blink too...wow!
    your utility company loves you.
    talk to hvac company about staging heat strips.

    only one f in professional too cool for school.
    If you checked all my spelling errors you would be here for six months, The F stands for frankly I don't give a damn.
    I do the best I can with spell check disabled.

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,048
    Quote Originally Posted by toocoolforschool View Post
    If you checked all my spelling errors you would be here for six months, The F stands for frankly I don't give a damn.
    I do the best I can with spell check disabled.
    Now that gets a F for frankly that's funny'!

    I mean hey its in your screen name!

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    6,048
    On another note Vegas says heat strips don't control fan ......that s not true.

    You gotta be careful cause sometimes you can wire a direct short through fan relay.

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    south louisiana
    Posts
    3,188
    my heat strip came in a box. it wasn't installed in the ahu.
    I've never seen heat strip installed.

    just poking you too cool for school..my spelling leaves something
    to be desired. generally I don't check anyones spelling..just thought
    it was funny. is there a spell check for this site? I've been
    around a while...and never figured out how to spell check here.

    OP now you have questions to ask installer.
    best of luck.
    The cure of the part should not be attempted without the cure of the whole. ~Plato

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, Oh
    Posts
    5,042
    Quote Originally Posted by SBKold View Post
    On another note Vegas says heat strips don't control fan ......that s not true.

    You gotta be careful cause sometimes you can wire a direct short through fan relay.
    I continue to assert that goodman HKR kits do not control fan operation.
    Although, I'm always more than willing to learn something
    Send me a PM with why please, I'd rather not discuss it in the open.
    "Better tell the sandman to stay away, because we're gonna be workin on this one all night."

    "Dude, you need more than 2 wires to a condenser to run a 2 stage heatpump."

    "Just get it done son."

    Dad adjusted

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event