Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    evansville indiana
    Posts
    943

    carrier motor master 3 problems

    I have a carrier motor master 3

    magnetek 3p-vs1 which requires the VS-101 motors which I have.

    I have an issue I have seen before and cannot remember the cause.

    The thermister is good

    At a certain resistance range ,which equals around 80F, the fans do not turn ,they just shake really bad and make a god awful noise . I can short the resistor so they run full speed and the motors appear fine.

    I know someone else has encountered this .

    Yes ,I know they are junk .....noy going to put mm5 on either . I want to know why...


    Thanks
    mikeacman

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    evansville indiana
    Posts
    943
    I talked to magnetek...

    One or more triacs out of adjustment ....not field adjustable ....device is garbage
    mikeacman

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,718
    Sure why???

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeacman View Post
    I have a carrier motor master 3

    magnetek 3p-vs1 which requires the VS-101 motors which I have.

    I have an issue I have seen before and cannot remember the cause.

    The thermister is good

    At a certain resistance range ,which equals around 80F, the fans do not turn ,they just shake really bad and make a god awful noise . I can short the resistor so they run full speed and the motors appear fine.

    I know someone else has encountered this .

    Yes ,I know they are junk .....noy going to put mm5 on either . I want to know why...


    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    evansville indiana
    Posts
    943
    Quote Originally Posted by Dallas Duster View Post
    Sure why???
    I'm not sure what you mean ?

    Do you have an answer? Or am I not clear?

    I spoke with magnetek and they told me why it was doing this . I also spoke to carrier tech support and they didn't know . I also questioned the application and it was researched by carrier and I was told this is a valid option for the unit in question .

    This unit has had 4 of these in two years .

    I triple checked the installation and all appears correct . Yes , we are using the vs101 motors

    This is on a HJD025 500 series running 208vac.

    I can't get a good answer ,good enough for me ,and I'm thinking were going to have to go to something else . I have an email in with a tech support person who has promised to research this for me and let me know .
    mikeacman

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    evansville indiana
    Posts
    943
    Magnetek told me it was triac adjustment issues or a triac failure, couldn't tell me why it failed but in the same sentence told me it was junk ..... and to replace it . When I mentioned having 4 in two years they questioned the application.

    We are running two motors off this , he wondered if the current was to high .

    I checked it with a trms meter and it appeared to be at or near max amps , but not over ....
    mikeacman

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,718
    Yes ,I know they are junk .....noy going to put mm5 on either . I want to know why...

    This is what I am referring to.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    evansville indiana
    Posts
    943
    Well ,I would like to put the 5's on

    This is still a warranty issue ...not sure who's going to pay for what.

    The customer paid for a replacement in July and we warranty for a year P&L.

    I'm going to have to turn it over and let the money men decide this one.
    mikeacman

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,554
    P66 and be done with it.

    Junk is the reason.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,718
    For 3 phase motors?

    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    P66 and be done with it.

    Junk is the reason.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas ,Texas
    Posts
    3,718
    I would have thought a MMV was less expensive.

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeacman View Post
    Well ,I would like to put the 5's on

    This is still a warranty issue ...not sure who's going to pay for what.

    The customer paid for a replacement in July and we warranty for a year P&L.

    I'm going to have to turn it over and let the money men decide this one.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by timebuilder View Post
    P66 and be done with it.

    Junk is the reason.
    the biggest problem with p66 is they leak after a while.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    up in the hizzy
    Posts
    1,377
    Quote Originally Posted by Dallas Duster View Post
    For 3 phase motors?
    try the Hoffman 865-3aa.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,554
    Quote Originally Posted by Dallas Duster View Post
    For 3 phase motors?
    I missed that part. I was using my dumb phone.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event