Plugged dryer and cap tube on reach in - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 29
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona
    Posts
    88
    Common on R134 freezer units with POE oil getting way too hot over long period of time. I found it common on BEV Air freezers that had dirty or low air movement across the condenser coil. Need to replace cap tube and drier

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL.
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by steve36558 View Post
    Common on R134 freezer units with POE oil getting way too hot over long period of time. I found it common on BEV Air freezers that had dirty or low air movement across the condenser coil. Need to replace cap tube and drier
    I agree with all of what you said with the addition of flushing out the condenser due to the rocks pictured in my hand being in the condenser outlet line before the dryer. I also think that the absence of any oil is unusual too. It's dry as desert sand. Of course, that's probably what the oil turned into.

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Western Kentucky
    Posts
    44
    are you saying that found rocks in the filter, or that you flushed rocks out of your liquid line????

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by steve36558 View Post
    Common on R134 freezer units with POE oil getting way too hot over long period of time. I found it common on BEV Air freezers that had dirty or low air movement across the condenser coil. Need to replace cap tube and drier
    I see it all the time

  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL.
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by arnoldbta View Post
    are you saying that found rocks in the filter, or that you flushed rocks out of your liquid line????
    When I cut the dryer out, the rocks (I'm characterizing them as that. Actually they crumbled to powder quite easily) were in the liquid line before the initial dryer screen. That's what prompted me to cut the dryer in half to investigate further.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland, TX
    Posts
    39
    I am not trying to push one brand over another but you need to install a co52capt drier, its sporlan. Solid core with access ports, you can check your pressures. Those bullet driers aren't even recomended by the compressor mffg's or most valve companies, they fall apart. You need to just change the cap tube along with it, it is a policy where I work. It is too cheap to ensure no blockage or wax build up. The c052capt will help to clean some of the debris, but this all came from that dirty condensor. Bottom line, that was your issue. Channge cap tube and drier and pull a good micron vacuum and you will be set.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL.
    Posts
    119
    Quote Originally Posted by J_Bridge View Post
    I am not trying to push one brand over another but you need to install a co52capt drier, its sporlan. Solid core with access ports, you can check your pressures. Those bullet driers aren't even recomended by the compressor mffg's or most valve companies, they fall apart. You need to just change the cap tube along with it, it is a policy where I work. It is too cheap to ensure no blockage or wax build up. The c052capt will help to clean some of the debris, but this all came from that dirty condensor. Bottom line, that was your issue. Channge cap tube and drier and pull a good micron vacuum and you will be set.
    Your correct except for the dryer part. The compressor is a 1/3 hp and that is the dryer that comes in the box from Tecumseh.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland, TX
    Posts
    39
    I don't care, True mfg also sends out bullet driers. If you stop using a drier that sounds like it has sand in it you will nevet have an issue. My company always uses solid core driers, even if we have to pay for them. The assurance if not having a call back is priceless, both for you and your customer. And I don't ever recall a compressor mfg "copeland, danfoss or tecumeh" providing a drier. Now like I said earlier some oem will send the bullet ones out, but I am still saying "just dont risk it". The solid core will trap more and not break loose in the system, unless you drop it prior to installing it.

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    20
    Question is if Sporlan fixed their solid core driers releasing the accumulated debris from around the end with the pad they added.
    Anyone know?

  10. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland, TX
    Posts
    39
    Last I checked sporland doesn't use a pad. I have never had an issue with that, I will check with my rep tomorrow on that though.

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland, TX
    Posts
    39
    Sporlan C052capt-tt-hh drier is specificall designed for cap tube systems with wax issues. It has carbon, solid core, strainer and felt pad. Sporlan made it for these specific issues.

    And sporlan does use on the normal driers, a solid core 30 micron (which does most all the filtering) then a mesh screen 40 micron and the pad that is 20 micron. The screen and the pad are just as a precaution(oveer kill).

  12. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    where it's nice and warm
    Posts
    247
    Do these driers have a screen and pad on both sides?

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Garland, TX
    Posts
    39
    Just on the outlet from what was understanding from sporlan

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event