Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 29
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    979
    I've just had the ghost seem to raise it's ugly head and the only way out is refrubish the circuit with new coil loads and even the t-former. Sometimes the ghost really is just "In The Machine" to quote the band The Police!

  2. #15
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    6
    does the unit have a smoke detector? we just had an aaon chatter relays and contactors intermitttantly because the smoke detector was pulling in and out.

  3. #16
    Problem solved... there was multiple contactors in the heating circuit that were causing a voltage drop on the low voltage side.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mid-Mo
    Posts
    3,595
    Quote Originally Posted by newyorkjets View Post
    Problem solved... there was multiple contactors in the heating circuit that were causing a voltage drop on the low voltage side.
    I bet you'll be back and see that problem again.....

  5. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by ryan1088 View Post
    I bet you'll be back and see that problem again.....
    well do you have any suggestions as to what could be causeing the problem?

  6. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by ryan1088 View Post
    I bet you'll be back and see that problem again.....
    well do you have any suggestions as to what could be causeing the problem?

  7. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mid-Mo
    Posts
    3,595
    The few times I saw this problem, all of them had very long runs to the thermostat. The inside panel clearly states how many feet of stat wire you can use before you need to upsize. In our case, we were 3 times over on length and it had regular stat wire ran to the stat. Voltage on the secondary was about 22 volts even with new transformers.

  8. #21
    The unit did have small diameter stat wire that had been spliced in one spot originally installed. When i seen this i did change out the stat wire. I did check the voltage at the coil after the repairs were made and had 25 volts. The stat is about 40 to 50 feet away from the unit... i didnt see anything saying a minimum distance... do you remember what it was?

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mid-Mo
    Posts
    3,595
    How many conductors do you have running to it?

    Here's the chart in the iom:
    200'= 20 ga
    350 =18
    500 =16
    750= 14
    1250= 12

  10. #23
    there are 7 conductors

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mid-Mo
    Posts
    3,595
    So 7 conductors and a 50' run would need 18 awg wire.

    7x50=350

  12. #25
    well come to find out we have been there numerous times in the past replacing contactors... so this makes sense. I believe it was 20ga wire installed in the unit before i changed it. This would explain why the coils were burning out.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mid-Mo
    Posts
    3,595
    Now you just have convince them to let you to fix it!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event