Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34

    Tridium AX ModbusTCP to BACnetMSTP

    Hello,

    I have a heat pump with Gforce supervisor system and a Jace2.
    The communication of HP is ModbusTCP and need translate the HP to BACnet MSTP

    On the Jace, I created a BACnet network and a ModbusTCPSalve Network.

    Questions are, after create all my Modbus Points (under Device->Points); Where can I create the virtual BACnet points? and Must I create a ServerPoints or I just need to create link between each points (Modbus -> BACnet) ?

    Thx!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    363
    You would create the points under the bacnet network/local device/export table.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34
    Ok and after just a link between Modbus and BACnet point?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    49
    I don't know AX very well as I don't work on it much... But if you're just trying to do a straight network conversion maybe it'd be easier (and cheaper?) to do that with a FieldServer? I know you can get them to engineer your a solution preloaded if you don't know how to configure FieldServers, I've never gone that route so I don't know what it'd cost but from talking with other guys that seems to be a popular option.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    363
    Quote Originally Posted by black_syphilis View Post
    Ok and after just a link between Modbus and BACnet point?
    You do not need a link when you export a point in the Bacnet Export Manager. You just discover the points you want to export and give them an AV or BV number.

    Quote Originally Posted by chas_md View Post
    I don't know AX very well as I don't work on it much... But if you're just trying to do a straight network conversion maybe it'd be easier (and cheaper?) to do that with a FieldServer? I know you can get them to engineer your a solution preloaded if you don't know how to configure FieldServers, I've never gone that route so I don't know what it'd cost but from talking with other guys that seems to be a popular option.
    I think he already has the jace.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34
    [QUOTE=noskilltech;14675321]You do not need a link when you export a point in the Bacnet Export Manager. You just discover the points you want to export and give them an AV or BV number.

    Oh yeah Good!

    But I can't write the BACnet point directly on Export Table (BACnet Writable: in1 to in16) but with other device or software, I will can discover and modify the BACnet point, right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    467
    Absolutely correct - once the point is exported from the BACnet Export Table, you can modify the points defined as writable from other devices or software. Just be sure to write to points at the priority levels you've defined (you can be selective, allowing writing only on certain priority levels, or can simply expose the writables at all priority levels).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34
    Bad day!

    I integrated my modbus Thermopump to BACnet MSTP, I can read all my BACnet point BUT I can't write on them with third software (Bacstage / Metasys / Orcaview), it's said like Write denied.
    I created writable modbus point and after I selected BACnet point with all priority level.
    Below the image:
    Name:  ScreenShot350.jpg
Views: 241
Size:  52.0 KB

    Anyone have idea??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    167
    The station automatically creates a user named BACnet. You need to assign the BACnet user operator write permissions to the BACnet export components.
    Not everything that can be counted counts, and not every thing that counts can be counted - Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    34
    What is the link between the BACnet user with write permissions and the other BACnet software?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    167
    Nothing really, as the client doesn't need to authenticate. It is just an added step in the station engineering to allow BACnet client devices to write to the exposed BACnet objects.

    In Workbench hit ctrl + L, and paste in this link, local:|module://docBacnet/doc/aBACnetServerAccess.html .
    Not everything that can be counted counts, and not every thing that counts can be counted - Albert Einstein

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event