Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    2,485

    VisionPro IAQ thermostat - strange behavoir at midnight?

    I have a VisionPro IAQ thermostat and I've noticed this strange behavior twice in the last few days. I am running 3 CPH on heat. Right around midnight, it did 3 very short runs with very little OFF time between runs, during a period of about a half hour, and then resumed normal cycling at about 3 CPH. Load is about 50% at this time, so normally runs are about 10 minutes ON and 10 minutes OFF.
    11:56pm to 12:04am (8 minutes ON)
    1 minute OFF
    12:05am to 12:12am (7 minutes)
    3 minutes OFF
    12:15am to 12:23am (8 minutes)
    After this, it ran several cycles of about about 10 minutes OFF and 10 minutes ON.

    Is this strange or what?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    Did you feed it after midnight?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    Thats strange. Did you have any power outages during the day when this happened.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,902
    Have you checked the programming? Could there be any setback/setup changes within that 1/2 hour?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Keokuk, IA
    Posts
    5,520
    Quote Originally Posted by kdean1 View Post
    Have you checked the programming? Could there be any setback/setup changes within that 1/2 hour?

    That was my thought. There's a couple of periods mashed in there.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,902
    Quote Originally Posted by motoguy128 View Post
    That was my thought. There's a couple of periods mashed in there.
    If two of us think so, then it must be right.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    2,485
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Thats strange. Did you have any power outages during the day when this happened.
    Not that I know of. The first time I thought it was just a one-time thing, or maybe I imagined it. Then it happened again just like the first time.

    Quote Originally Posted by kdean1 View Post
    Have you checked the programming? Could there be any setback/setup changes within that 1/2 hour?
    I have all periods programmed for th same temps, and the "sleep" period starts at 10PM anyway.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,902
    Quote Originally Posted by garya505 View Post
    Not that I know of. The first time I thought it was just a one-time thing, or maybe I imagined it. Then it happened again just like the first time.



    I have all periods programmed for th same temps, and the "sleep" period starts at 10PM anyway.
    Maybe you have already done so, but I'd still check all 7 days on the program.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Central Fla.
    Posts
    311
    Do you have a back up generator? If so it maybe going through it's testing at that time and causing it to short cycle going into and coming out the testing due to loss of power.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    2,485
    No back up generator.

    I have a suspicion that this is caused by the weather here. We usually have a large day-to-night temperature difference. Since I have been watching the cycling behavior, I have noticed what appears to be some short cycling well before midnight, which seems to correct itself after a while. Could it be that the PID algorithm does not handle the large drop in temperature very well, and takes some time to adapt?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    2,485
    OK, there it goes again. 11PM
    10 min ON
    1 min OFF
    9 min ON
    1 min OFF
    3 min ON
    11 min OFF
    10 min ON
    15 min OFF

    Got any ideas?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,366
    Looks like its trying to do 4 CPH. Set CPH to 2 and see if it still does strange cycles.

    Could be a faulty stat.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Albuquerque NM
    Posts
    2,485
    Quote Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
    Looks like its trying to do 4 CPH. Set CPH to 2 and see if it still does strange cycles.

    Could be a faulty stat.
    Yes, I was wondering about that, but it seems to work fine most of the time.

    Actually, the OFF times I listed above are all shorter than stated, by 90 seconds, because the furnace runs the blower for 90s after the call for heat ends.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event