Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Inefficient (expensive) In-Floor Hydronic RH - Incorrect Boiler Piping?

Hey all,

Sorry for the novel, but I want to provide as much info as would be helpful.

Background:
    I have a 17 yr.old home which I have owned for 2 years. It is two-story with in-floor RH on both stories (in-slab on the first floor, gypcrete on the second). Avg outside winter temps are high/low 45/20. I am a DIYer, knowing just enough to get myself into trouble, an engineer by trade. The only work I have done on the RH system is to replace a Honeywell zone valve and a backflow preventer valve, both faulty when the home was purchased but discovered several months after purchase.

System:
    The boiler is a Weil Mclain CGa ('95, original to the house), 81% AFUE. The hot water outlet goes through a lever-style shut-off and directly spits into the 3 zone supplies, which disappear into the wall. On the wall adjacent to the 3 zone supplies are the 3 zone returns which each run through a zone valve and then union into a single supply feeding the TACO circulator via a lever shut-off valve, which then goes directly into the boiler supply. Tee-ing into the boiler supply after the circulator is the expansion tank with a spigot which receives cold water supply via a lever shut-off valve and the backflow preventer valve, which drains to the exterior of the home. I can take pictures and attach them this evening, if needed, but I don't have any right now. The system if visually pretty simple. All pipes are wrapped in foam.

There are three zones, one for the upstairs (8'-10' cathedral ceilings), one for the two downstairs bedrooms and bath (8' ceilings), and one for the main portion of the downstairs (ceiling and dining room with 8' ceilings and the family room with fireplace and vaulted ceilings to a 2nd-story loft).

Problem:
    Expensive $500/month propane bill ($2.50/gallon for propane). 4 space heaters typically only run up the electric bill $150/month.