Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Fullerton
    Posts
    767

    Fieldpiece DDSM1 Pressure Switch Tester

    Check out the video for the DDSM1 Pressure Switch Tester.

    http://youtu.be/z3D8-dFugqQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Loveland
    Posts
    18
    I have one and works great! not a tool you need every day but nice to have.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,207
    Why is this necessary when the same can be accomplished with a manometer, multimeter and your fingers squeezing the tube (provided you really cared at which point the switch was making or breaking after determining it was bad).

    I think I've had one genuine bad pressure switch in an entire heating season.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NE wisconsin
    Posts
    402
    They are very usefull in setting universal pressure switches.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    3,207
    Quote Originally Posted by philjafo View Post
    They are very usefull in setting universal pressure switches.
    Ah...good point.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Loveland
    Posts
    18
    It works really good to check full modulating furnaces that set there gas pressures off the pressure switches. Pressure differential is very imported with this type of furnace.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,691
    As I understand it, this is the draft rite tool now owned by Field Piece. The draft rite is not something I need often, but it sure is good at what it does. I use it to test pressure switches and set universal pressure switches for accurately replacing the old one. And I have used it in one case to find out that the hack installers reduced 3" PVC to 2" at the termination point of a condensing furnace which caused furnace shut downs.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Athens, Ohio
    Posts
    1,691
    Quote Originally Posted by Coloradotech View Post
    Pressure differential is very imported with this type of furnace.
    I prefer domestic pressure differential to the "imported" ones.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    In a boiler room
    Posts
    7,046
    Quote Originally Posted by hurtinhvac View Post
    Why is this necessary when the same can be accomplished with a manometer, multimeter and your fingers squeezing the tube (provided you really cared at which point the switch was making or breaking after determining it was bad).

    I think I've had one genuine bad pressure switch in an entire heating season.
    I have replaced about 8 "genuine bad" pressure switches this fall already. We work on furnaces from Sept to May, they get a lot of cycles here.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    304
    I was thinking about this tool the other day when I had to adjust two brand new Reznor pressure switches. They were rated for 1.0" but started flapping the gas valve at 1.2" I had to use the manometer tee and the 'pinch' method. How much does that tool go for?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Loveland
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by tuba View Post
    I was thinking about this tool the other day when I had to adjust two brand new Reznor pressure switches. They were rated for 1.0" but started flapping the gas valve at 1.2" I had to use the manometer tee and the 'pinch' method. How much does that tool go for?
    I payed 160 for it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event